Summer Holidays

Happy 2013!

“Shoot for the moon, even if you fail, you’ll land among the stars”  – Cecelia Ahern

 I’m really glad and  humbled that you’ve come back to check out my post this week as well. Yes, I’m the newbie here, filling big shoes – literally. Anyway. Got back from holidays today, just in time to post numéro deux for this week. The brain still mushy from the heat last week, I wondered yesterday whether I should humbly ask for a widget that converts Celsius to Fahrenheit, because if I tell you lovelies it was 40+ deg the last week, you probably raise your eyebrows in wonder when I also tell you that we did extreme “pooling” as we call it – wake up, swim in the pool, eat, swim in the pool, eat some more, swim in the pool… You get the gist. Then I calculated 15 hours back hoping it’s Monday in the US already, thinking ‘a widget’ might come handy for that as well, to find out the time. But scheduling seems to be the solution! Thank goodness for that.

So in my mushy head I tried to figure out this week’s theme and wattayuknow …. anything …. For those loyal visitors to this site – this is what I’ve been up to the last couple of years. Last week you had the chance to get a freebie of my first book “Sweet Dreams, Miss England”. This week I’d like to tease you excerpts from my books  “Journey to Her Dreams” and “Innocent Tears”. ENJOY

Hope to see you all here again next week !

“Journey to Her Dreams”

Would you travel around the world to uncover the reason for your dreams?
Hollie Anderson does.
A young woman from Tasmania who lives on a farm just outside Launceston, she has got good looks, likes her job and loves to hang out with her friends. She should be happy, right?
But it’s a recurrent dream that throws her daily life into chaos and takes her on a journey to Ireland. While on her quest for answers she meets Sam in Dublin under unusual circumstances and both women, so different in many ways, find out they have one thing in common – and it changes their lives forever.

Jeremy checked out the room. It had a touch of organised chaos to it, with magazines in one corner of the couch and the other side swamped with laundry. The single seater seemed to have all the mail on it, nicely sorted with little sticky notes, which, as he 9781936852697noticed on coming closer, had the due dates written on them. Jeremy choked back a smile and went over to the shelf. He was surprised by the variety of books and magazines. A lot of them were advertising related, but he also found a few books by Ruth Rendell, P.D. James, Caroline Graham and, as it seemed, the entire collection of the Midsomer Murders series. There were also Dan Brown’s books, a few John Grishams and even Cecelia Ahern. What a mix. He found some photos amongst all the books as well. He laughed when he noted a photo of Hollie and Alex in school uniform. A photo sitting in the back corner caught his eye, and he thought he recognised a younger Murray, and assumed the woman by his side was Hollie’s mother.
“That’s my Mum,” Hollie said, all of a sudden by his side.
“She was beautiful,” he commented.
Hollie took the frame in her hand. “Yes, she was,” she whispered. Jeremy stared at her.
“Anyway,” she said, “let’s do the impossible and finish this application.”
Jeremy watched her as she carefully placed the frame back onto the shelf, in the back corner. “Why are you hiding it?”
“Hiding what?”
He nodded towards the shelf. “Your mum’s photo.”
She frowned as she protested. “I’m not hiding it.”
“Yes, you are.”
Hands on hips she met his gaze. “Excuse me, so you have a diploma in psychology, too? I’m not hiding it. I place it at the back. I have a tendency to feel guilty that my mum had to die so I could live. I merely place it in a spot where she’s close to me, but not always in my sight.”

“Innocent Tears”

Becoming a parent can be daunting at the best of times, but for Flynn, a business lawyer in Mel-bourne, it almost pulls the feet from right underneath him. He’s become a father to six-year-old Nadine literally overnight! He had no idea about her existence, and the news throws him into chaos, even more so when he is asked to take over custody.
With the help of Emma, an employee at the hotel where Nadine and her grandparents are staying, and his parents, Flynn tries to do the right thing. Yet, the right thing in his eyes differs from his parents’, and Emma is voicing her opinion as well. And right in the middle is little Nadine, still grieving the loss of her mother and finding a wonderful friend in Emma. There’s no doubt she’s afraid where and with whom she will settle.
But in the end, it’s a letter Flynn receives that helps him figuring out what to do.

With her child-sized suitcase and doll in arm, Nadine looked even smaller and frailer than the previous day. The lines of Flynn’s mouth tightened a fraction more as he spotted the little girl. Good grief, he was nervous. With only a few long steps he walked over to Teresa, William and Nadine. Like the day before, he kneeled down and looked into his daughter’s eyes. “Hello, Miss Muffin. It seems we’re going to spend some time together.”
He noticed Nadine’s nod only came hesitantly. Her eyes did not reflect the warmth he had seen the previous day when William had held her in his arms.InnocentTears 500x750 (2)
He pointed to her suitcase. “Is this yours?”
She nodded again and then looked to William. “Grandpa?” she whispered.
William picked her up and gave her a massive hug. “You’ll be fine, love. And remember, Grandma and Grandpa love you very much.”
Nadine hung onto him even tighter, and that nearly broke Flynn’s heart

About Iris B

Iris Blobel was born and raised in Germany and only immigrated to Australia in the late 1990s. Having had the travel bug most of her life, Iris spent quite some time living in Scotland, London as well as Canada where she actually had met her future husband. Her love for putting her stories onto paper has only recently emerged, but now her laptop is a constant companion. Iris resides west of Melbourne with her husband and her beautiful two daughters as well as her dog. Next to her job at a private school she also presents a German Program at the local Community Radio
This entry was posted in Holiday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Summer Holidays

  1. jeff7salter says:

    enjoyed the excerpts today, Iris.
    I think I told you once before that I’m fascinated by the subject of dreams and how they influence us — both creatively and in other ways. One of the very first novels I started writing — but had to put aside to work on diff. ms. — had to do with dreams. I still hope to finish it some day.
    Welcome back from your blistering hot SUMMER vacation.
    Still can’t get used to the fact that your season could be so opposite of the No. American season.

    Like

    • Iris B says:

      I look forward to reading your “dream story”. Dreams are very important to me and one day I will find the time to invest more time into finding out much much more!
      Yes, back home and it’s freezing – literally …. arrrghhhh. I prefer the heat and the pool 😉

      Like

      • jeff7salter says:

        Although MANY have gone unremembered and unrecorded, I have several hundred which I’ve recalled enough detail to write up what I loosely call “dream accounts”. Besides the fleeting scenes of the dream itself, I try to establish context, if any, or what I think could have been real world ‘prompts’ (when they’re evident). For example, if I had watched a particularly impressive movie shortly before going to bed and find inmy dream some reflections of that imagery. except in a few rare cases, I’ve spent little effort trying to “analyze” the dreams. Sometimes I scrutinize the imagery a bit, but I’ll leave it to a psychoanalysist to ‘explain’ them.
        But I find them quite fascinating.

        Like

    • Iris B says:

      They ARE fascinating indeed. Never got to write them down though! I do know wasp chasing me is trouble around, me killing wasps is all’s ok again. There are other dreams, but that would be a bit too “open” for me for everyone to read 😉

      Like

  2. Love the excerpts! Happy summer to you down under!

    Like

  3. Sorry I didn’t get here right away,Iris;I have been swamped.I hope travels all go well.
    You have made an unintentional problem for me…my TBR list is so long and now, you have added to it!When we get a moment,we’ll have to discuss Cecelia Ahern’s work.I love a few and I have a what-the-heck-happened-? feeling about others.)
    Warm here today, rather.Feel free to send any excessive temps you have!

    Like

    • Iris B says:

      Break was great, now it’s back to work 😦
      Re Cecelia – fully agree. Some of them great, others a bit on the weird side. Definately will have a chat!
      As for the temps – heat’s coming back over the weekend, so expect some coming over via “air mail” 😉

      Like

  4. Pingback: Reblogged from fourfoxesonehound – 7 Jan 13

Leave a Reply

