Guest Fox – Patricia Kiyono

Welcome to this week’s Guest Fox Patricia Kiyono! And what a wonderful topic she’s talking about. April Fool’s Day today, but as Patricia’s found out, there’s so much more going on today …
Thanks Patricia – I celebrate you today!

Find a Reason to Celebrate
By Patricia Kiyono

 When Iris asked me to be the guest fox for April 1, she very logically suggested the topic of April Fools’ Day. I thought about that topic for a few days before I came to the realization that I am not, and never have been, a prankster, and I don’t like it when people play pranks on me. In fact, I really can’t remember any played on me or by me. So either I haven’t ever been the victim of an April Fools’ joke, or else I have totally blocked it from my mind.

What to write about? Easter Sunday was yesterday, and I assumed that the foxes and hound would have already discussed that topic. So I did what any self-respecting blogger with a deadline and no ideas would do.

I googled.

Yep, I went online to search for another observance that would inspire the words. I was stunned to find out all the things that are celebrated this week. April 1 through 7 represents the celebration of lots of interesting things. Here are just a few:

International Pooper-Scooper Week (there’s something worth celebrating)
Laugh at Work week
Golden Rule Week
Medication Safety Week
Testicular Cancer Awareness Week

Another search for observances specific to today’s date resulted in some even more interesting “holidays”. In addition to April Fools’ Day, today is

Boomer Bonus Days
National Fun Day
National Fun at Work Day
Poetry & The Creative Mind Day
Sorry Charlie Day
St. Stupid Day – (Is there really such a saint?)
US Air force Academy Day

It seems there is no shortage of things to celebrate today. And celebrating is good. Tom Volkar, in his article “Five Good Reasons to Celebrate” tells us “Celebration is self-acknowledgment and recognition for successfully completing every small step. Completion is the triumphant achievement of our objective and our signal to proceed forward to the freshness of discovery.” I won’t go into all five reasons, but one really hit home with me: Celebration is emotional nourishment. We NEED to celebrate, because it feeds our souls. It gives the motivation to continue and to grow. Here is his link: http://www.coreu.com/five-good-reasons-to-celebrate-more-often/

So raise a glass to whatever you like, and celebrate. And if none of the above ideas appeal to you, make one up. I’m thinking about celebrating the fact that I got this blog post done!

What will you celebrate?

You can find out more about Patricia on her Author Page: http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.amazon.com%2FPatricia-Kiyono%2Fe%2FB0067PSM5C%2Fref%3Dntt_athr_dp_pel_1&h=VAQEerclJ

Or her website:  http://creative-hodgepodge.blogspot.com.au/

Patty

About Iris B

Iris Blobel was born and raised in Germany and only immigrated to Australia in the late 1990s. Having had the travel bug most of her life, Iris spent quite some time living in Scotland, London as well as Canada where she actually had met her future husband. Her love for putting her stories onto paper has only recently emerged, but now her laptop is a constant companion. Iris resides west of Melbourne with her husband and her beautiful two daughters as well as her dog. Next to her job at a private school she also presents a German Program at the local Community Radio
This entry was posted in authors, Guest Blogs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Guest Fox – Patricia Kiyono

  1. Lisa Orchard says:

    Great post Patty!

    Like

  2. Very original topic for an author (not the same old stuff)! Really enjoyed it 🙂
    Blessings!
    Catherine

    Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    Welcome, Patty! Glad to see you here as a Guest Fox.
    Of the days you listed, I think “Pooper Scooper Day” is foremost in my mind — I need to empty King Sippers litter box … badly.
    As far as practical jokes — I hate them. Rarely are they “funny”. Sometimes they are downright malicious. Many people are injured or terribly offended when made the butt of elaborate pranks.
    Long ago, I was involved in the horrific fallout of a very complicated situation which was instigated, in part, by an elaborate and destructive practical joke.

    Like

  4. Lots of fun things to celebrate. One must wonder if pooper scooper day is an April Fools joke. LOL!

    Like

  5. Nice to have you join us, Patty! I am celebrating the fact that i cooked for two days, then had people in for two more days of feasting .It was well worth the effort;I had fun making the feast and fun watching it being devoured.I am celebrating being able to open the refrigerator and not risk an avalanche !
    (I’m pretty sure St.Stupid is a stupid joke…I think pooper-scoopers deserve a holiday!)

    Like

  6. You have a lot to celebrate, Tonette. And I’m sure you’re right about St. Stupid. Thanks for stopping in!

    Like

  7. Pingback: 5 Reasons to Step Away from the Smartphone for a Week | The Social Guy

  8. Iris B says:

    Thanks, Patty, for being our Guest Fox. It seems you had a great time here!
    Loved your post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

