Micki Ain’t Got Time For That

It’s late and I’ve been agonizing over this week’s topic for quite a while now.  The question posed was, “Have you ever gone on a craze about a certain old series you loved and watched all the episodes back to back via Netflix, rented movies or some other server?”  The truthful, yet concise answer for me would be NO.  And that, kids, would make for an extremely short blog post.

Why haven’t I gone on a Friends binge?  Sat around watching Saturday Night Live until it was Monday morning?  Watched The Walking Dead until I became a zombie myself?  Because I don’t have time for that.  Oh, and because I pretty much don’t watch TV in the first place.  I kid you not.

Once upon a time, there was a little girl who grew up in the 70’s and 80’s.  Oh, she loved all those TV shows.  She could sing theme songs from Happy Days, Laverne & Shirley, and The Facts of Life.  She would sit with her family to watch The Wonderful World of Disney on Sunday nights.  (This is not to be confused with the crap they put on the Disney channel these days.)  And game shows!  She really wanted to be on Wheel of Fortune or The Price is Right back in the Bob Barker days.

So what happened?  Short version.  She grew up.  She had responsibilities.  And she had kids.  And TV’s which have at least a dozen remotes.  Somehow, the 5 year old was far more capable of figuring out which remote turned on the TV, which one for the cable box, which one for the VCR/DVD player which the cable has to go through.  Or not.  I don’t know.  Oh, and reality TV.  I hate reality TV and the people who come with it.  (Looking at anyone who has the name Kardashian.)

These days, my kids have control of the TV…mostly because I don’t want it.  Hundreds of channels, but I don’t have time to search through them all and I certainly don’t remember what channel the guide is on.  The other thing is that I have piles of laundry, bills to pay, books to read, books to write, phone calls to make, school papers to sign, and who knows what else.  Honestly, I’d go a little crazy trying to sit and watch a series all the way through.  Time to watch TV all day is a luxury I neither have nor want.  If I were granted hours upon hours to watch something with no interruptions (never going to happen…in fact, I’ve been interrupted at least twice trying to compose this), I would much rather spend those hours at a spa, in a bookstore, or trying on shoes.  No judgement to those who would love a to watch a series all the way through, but I also know that with TV comes a certain vice.  I am guilty of mindless eating and TV is a disaster area for me.  And trust me kids, I’m not chowing down on celery sticks either.

So while I suspect many people would love a day or two (or a week) to binge-watch their favorite old shows, for me it would be torture.  Either I’d be sick in bed thus feeling miserable, or worried about all the stuff needing to get done that I’m not getting done thus feeling EXTREMELY miserable.  And in this house, misery does not love company.  (Company would probably eat all my ice cream.)

Now that we all know that binge-TV-watching is my vision of purgatory, what is an activity that everyone else seems to love that you ain’t got time for?

About Micki Gibson

Young Adult fiction writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Micki Ain’t Got Time For That

  1. You have my full understanding and a better grip on your life than I have,Micki!
    I will post about what I HAVE done and those I would like to watch, give time.Since our time has been so short,my husband and I binged on on a couple of series over the past couple of years, but tot he detriment of everything else that could have or should have been done. Given our circumstances, we could have used the time in better or worse ways….i but I applaud you.
    Use your time to do your family things, cheerleading, traveling, and WRITING!

    Like

    • Micki Gibson says:

      Trust me, the writing has suffered as well. But I also remind myself that some of the stuff keeping me crazy busy these days won’t be that way forever and not for very long. I’ve got a couple of kiddos on the cusp of learning to drive. I’m thinking the cost of a car versus free time for myself may turn out to be a bargain!

      Like

      • I’m with you! Kids grow up waaaay too fast.Of course, mine brought more back to me waaaay too soon, but I know they are growing quickly, too.If not us, who then? Priorities! You sound like you have your head together,Micki.

        Like

  2. pjharjo says:

    Believe it or not (since I came up with this month’s questions) I don’t have time to watch TV, either. LOL! But I did get hooked on the Star Trek series. Didn’t sit in front of the TV for days, though, We watched, one episode a night, or when we could, until we’d seen it all. 🙂 An hour a night, or whenever, isn’t bad. Breaks improve my focus. We got crazed on the Zombies, in the same fashion, for awhile, too. LOL!

    Take Care, Mickie!

    Janette

    Like

  3. Iris B says:

    Go girl!

    Yes, I agree, I haven’t got time for it either, but I try and take it … because I need to be selfish sometimes. I haven’t done a Dexter Marathon in years, but when “Arrow” hit the tv recently, everyone in this house knew not to bother me on Wed 8.15 – 9.45 … “Drooling time” 🙂 LOL …

    Like

  4. jeff7salter says:

    How did I miss this post last week, Micki? So sorry.
    I can identify with a lot of what you say here. Especially in these recent 7 yrs, when my TV watching has gone down to perhaps 2 hrs per week or so. [sometimes, even less].
    But for many years, I would watch TV from the time I got home from work until I went to bed … which would be some 4-5 hours per NIGHT. When you’re glued to the TV you can’t do much of anything else… and don’t WANT to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

