Marathoning and Multitasking

This week we’ve been asked about binge or marathon watching of favorite TV shows, and yes, I have been guilty of doing so, but bear with me, I have some good excuses, I mean, reasons.
Alright, if you won’t accept my reasons, we can blame my husband, which is an excusable excuse in itself.

My husband has often have very varied schedules. Mainly because of that, we don’t often take the time to go to the movies, and so we bought a large screen TV and we can watch our extensive movie collection,(VHS and DVD), or borrow/rent others, we don’t much any more. What we have done is discover HULU and Netflix.

Since I was home more much of our married life, I got hooked on a few shows, which I introduced my husband to when he had more time and we marathon-watched. “Star Trek: The Next Generation” was one of the first, as was “The Highlander”. We indulged in “Dead Zone” as well. We moved to “Star Trek Voyager” and then to a few limited-run series, like Jeremy Brett’s “Sherlock Holmes” and Derek Jacobi’s “Cadfael”. (Do you know that one? He is a Crusader-turned-Monk in the 11th century and he solves crimes. I recommend it for any mystery buff.).
My only problem is that my husband will not let me hook the computer to the nice, big TV and we have watched the shows on our computer. We have a fair-sized screen,(if this keeps up, I’m getting an even bigger monitor), and the computer is in the main area of the house, right past the kitchen, in the dining area. You have to pass it to get to the rest of the house and the two doors we use to go in and out. We put it there when we had teenagers in the house,(see our logic?), and that is where all the online computers have been ever since. But there is a real advantage to watching it on the computer,(beside the fact that my husband got talked into buying a great sound-system with the last one we bought), is that the table and many other things are in easy access at the same time; we have become adept at multitasking.
My husband can read and scan papers and books while watching many of the shows; I never ceased to be amazed that he can absorb both of the media, (yet he doesn’t hear me when I talk when he is doing one or the other, but I digress). I do sorting of papers, sewing/repair work and other handiwork, including decoupaging. [See my post here from April 26th,2013:” Have an Environmental Plan?Can It!]
Last year I ran the entire “Frazier” series while I was taking down, then re-hanging pictures and shelving, moving furniture and painting in the kitchen and dining area…and cooking.
That’s not to say that we haven’t let some things go; we have. My niece begged us for years to hook ourselves into Netflix and watch the show “Supernatural”. We finally succumbed and brother, did we get hooked! We covered seven seasons at approximately 24 episodes each within a few months so that we could ‘catch up’ to the last season, which we watched in short order last month when it became available. We are now on a week-to-week schedule with everyone else, although we do see it when we can online and not when the TV tells us we have to. I only recently finished playing catch-up with the heavy housework but please don’t check up on the yard work.( My husband did always get the lawn mowed but my domain, the flowerbeds, look like they need supernatural help themselves at this point.)

So, as much as I put some favorite series on my ‘to be watched’ list, unless I learn to go without sleep ,they won’t be seen. My ‘to-be-read’ list is much longer , my ‘to-be-cleaned-or dealt-with’ list is long and my ‘to-be-written’ list is growing, so unless my niece talks us into catching up with yet another series-to-multitask-to, I think our marathon days are behind us.

How about you? Any thoughts?

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in movies, Tonette Joyce, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Marathoning and Multitasking

  1. jeff7salter says:

    All my lists are growing also … especially the ‘to be written’ and ‘to be read’ lists.
    My wife tends toward the multi-tasking you describe. She can do needlepoint, crossword puzzles, or various crafts projects … all while watching a TV show or movie. Not me. When I’m watching something, that’s all I do except snack.
    I used to think I could proofread or edit while watching TV. NOPE.
    I’m gonna write Kelsey Grammar and tell him that you watched his show during the wallpaper project. I’m pretty sure he’ll be majorly ticked.

    Like

  2. Iris B says:

    Righteo – I know Supernatural. I did watch it in the beginning until the bloody mary appeared and I peed my pants for weeks. as you all know by now, i’m not much of a scary movie/book fan. That was it … no more SN for me …. I’ve got to admit though it surprised me a bit to find that in your collection, Tonette 🙂

    Like

    • Really? Actually, my taste runs pretty high on supernatural shows:Once Upon a Time,The Ghost Whisperer, Buffy, The Dead Zone,Highlander,Grimm, are among my all-time favorites.( Harry Potter is part of our lives here!)
      We learn more and more about each other…isn’t that wonderful?
      (Sorry about your scare!)

      Like

      • Iris B says:

        I suppose I shouldn’t have been surprised Tonette, you’re such a open minded person, no wonder you give anything a go … you’re doing better with HP than I do … never read it, never watched it, never shown any interest in it either 🙂

        Like

      • Yes,Iris, thank you.I do try to give everything fair hearing, and I have had a number of , shall we say, unusual, occurrences in my life.
        The grandson and my niece hooked me on Harry. It has such good themes for the kids….relationships, what is important, family, friendship, fairness ,(and lack thereof). The characters grew on me.The books are more ‘on-edge’ than the movies , but when I have heard them playing on the DVD over and over…I couldn’t help but become endeared to them.

        Like

  3. pjharjo says:

    I enjoyed your blog, Tonette. Especially the lines about your husband! Husbands (men in general) are always good for an excuse, um, reason, aren’t they? LOL! I have found, in my life experiences, that a men are exceptional at (supposedly) doing multi-media, afa watching the TV and reading the paper at the same time.
    I have memories from my childhood of my daddy. He would come in from a long hard day’s work with the newspaper in hand, turn on the TV and sit in his favorite chair. From there he would read the paper, watch the TV, and take a nap, all at the SAME TIME! LOL! I used to have fun teasing him about that!
    My bf is much the same way, except in this day of online news, he doesn’t read the paper while he watches the TV and naps at the same time. 🙂
    Isn’t Netflix the BEST? Most anything is always available! I’ve never tried Hulu, so I wouldn’t know how that compares.
    I multi-task with my writing and my TV sometimes. I stand in front of my computer, which is on the buffet in the living room, and also watch the TV with intermittent glances and a more constant ear. I can’t recall as I’ve ever watched anything other than a short, if that, on my computer. But there ARE so many series out there that could entrap my interest if I were so inclined to allow it. Too busy right now.
    My tastes run toward the supernatural too. 🙂 I have a lot of fun with fellow chapter members who don’t necessarily like ghosts and things of that nature, each year during my chapter’s annual retreat at the Haunted Manresa Castle in Port Townsend, WA. I’m always excited to go there, them not so much. LOL!

    Like

    • Oh, do check out HULU, Janette…I only use the free version and so far, so good.I am a bit upset with the the lesser amount of movies on Netflix.Sometime in the future I may move to another,(Amazon, Blockbuster), but for right now,I am only going to pay for one link at a a time!

      Like

      • pjharjo says:

        I can hear you about paying for “one at a time,” Tonette! I’ve been thinking about Hulu, but it’s only gotten as far as that. Do you think it would work in the “place of” Comcast or some other provider?

        Like

      • Don’t expect out-right cable coverage on HULU, but it has a surprising amount of new shows , often the day after airing…and those are for free.They have a number of older shows, as well and many movies.However, they lean toward old ones,documentaries and foreign films. Then there are more available with their subscription service.
        I have to take the time to hunt through the listings again.I found a show of ‘lost’ Lucy performances.One was on a Bob Hope special in 1957.They did an I Love Lucy skit ; Lucy played herself, Bob played Ricky,Vivian Vance was Ethel and Desi played Fred. It was funny to see Viv all over Desi, unlike she would have been with William Frawley!

        Like

      • pjharjo says:

        That Lucy show sounds like a “must see”! LOL! I like older shows, sometimes, and I’ve still got Netflix and the theater for more recent movies. Thanks, Tonette! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

