Life Is an Advent Season

It feels like only yesterday that we celebrated the new year. Right?

Well, 2013 has been exciting, challenging, daunting and everything else, but we’ve made it through and on today’s topic list is “Reflect on the year that has been”.

I try to focus on the good stuff, because let’s face it, the bad is bad enough it’s not worth repeating!

We started the year in the wonderful city of Swan Hill with fireworks and the lot. Though initially a bit scared, the girls loved it and I thought it was a good sign to come. January was also my start as a “Fox” on this website, and I’m really grateful for my fellow “bloggers” to have had the faith in me to plot along every Monday and come up with an interesting post. It’s been a great ride so far!

Then came the EXCITING stuff in March as my family and I went onto a journey to “discover” the east coast of the USA. We did the Disney thing and then hopped into a motorhome and drove through five states within four weeks. And what a blast we had! The little bit we saw was beautiful and the people just so friendly and helpful. We thought about turning back time, but actually hubby is already planning the next trip for 2015. So watch out America for the next Blobel invasion 😉

We also had to deal with hubby’s unemployment at the start of the year. Daunting indeed, but after twenty-something years working, he enjoyed a month off work to enjoy the summer holidays with the girls. And what do they say? Good things come to those who wait (or something along that line) In May he started a job at the local outdoor museum Sovereign Hill and was made permanent last week. Life’s good!New Beginnings

“New Beginnings”, my first book in the Beginnings series was released in August. Woohoo! I love writing about the Levesque girls and look forward to the release of “More Beginnings” in late January!

I also joined the RWAus this year and haven’t looked back! It’s such a beautiful community and wonderful authors. I’ve made many new friends and received a lot of help and support. Could I ask for more?

This is more or less what happened in Blobel-Land in 2013. I’m sure there was more … don’t get me started on my two daughters …. but at the moment, this is all I’m sharing!

I certainly hope the past year has been a terrific year for you all as well. Let’s try and focus on the good things and forget the bad!

Oh yes, one bad thing I’d like to add …. RIP Gentlemen: Paul Walker & Lewis Collins.
And of course:
Nelson Mandela — ‘Do not judge me by my successes, judge me by how many times I fell down and got back up again.’

Happy 2nd Advent, everyone!

Jeff salter

About Iris B

Iris Blobel was born and raised in Germany and only immigrated to Australia in the late 1990s. Having had the travel bug most of her life, Iris spent quite some time living in Scotland, London as well as Canada where she actually had met her future husband. Her love for putting her stories onto paper has only recently emerged, but now her laptop is a constant companion. Iris resides west of Melbourne with her husband and her beautiful two daughters as well as her dog. Next to her job at a private school she also presents a German Program at the local Community Radio
This entry was posted in Australia, authors, childhood, Family, Friendship, Holiday, Jeff Salter, Life, Travel, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Life Is an Advent Season

  1. Sounds like you’ve had a great year! Hope 2014 is equally as good to you. I hope the next trip to North America brings you a bit farther east so you can see more of our country. And I’m so glad your husband’s job is permanent – that’s always a reassuring thing.

    Like

    • Iris B says:

      Thank you Patty! Yes, I cannot complain, 2013 has been good to me. Hopefully 2014 will be the same!
      And hopefully 2013 has been good to you as well. All the best for 2014, Patty!

      Like

  2. pjharjo says:

    Goodness. Your year has been full of ups downs. good for you for maintaining a positive attitude through it all. “Life’s good!” Great Mandela quote!

    Like

  3. We’re so glad that you are with us,Iris! You had a very exciting year,(even the ‘bad’ exctiement of your husband’s work seems worth it!)
    We’ll be bracing ourselves for your next “invasion”!

    Like

  4. jeff7salter says:

    seems like a very busy year for you, Iris. Yet you’ve continued to be so productive — both in writing and in your radio work.
    Very cool that you had that chance to tour part of America. Next trip, be certain you come farther east so I can show you around Possum Trot.

    Like

    • Iris B says:

      Thanks Jeff. I have no idea how I’ve been able to put everything into one year, but I suppose the support of my two girls, my husband and friends has a lot to do with it!
      I certainly hope to be able to “come past” Possum Trot! It’d be wonderful to “meet you in person” 🙂
      Hope you had a great birthday !!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

