A Written Fan Letter?

have you written a “fan letter” to a famous author? Did she/he respond?

Hmmm I guess I’ve fallen short on this one – I’ve never written a fan letter to a famous author, or any other celebratory type person that I can remember. Oh Wait! I do remember a fan letter I wrote once! It was to Electric Light Orchestra shortly after my injury. I wrote to them after I listened to their song; I’M ALIVE! That song struck such a personal nerve in me because that was the way I felt after I survived such a near fatal injury. 🙂

I got no response. I had hoped for one, but got none. It mattered to me, but only shortly. I soon forgot about it and went on to bigger and better things!

About pjharjo

Janette is an author of Romantic Paranormal Fantasy. CONNECTIONS, her first series, is Indie published. You can follow her or sign up for her newsletter, and learn more about her new releases as they become available, at http://www.authorjanetteharjo.blogspot.com She lives in the beautiful and prolific Pacific NW of the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Written Fan Letter?

  1. Iris B says:

    Yeah – I had one of those too. It kinda hurts the ego a little bit for a little while, right? I thought of mentioning the person, because their music was important to me for a long time … but like you, I’ve moved on 😉 His/their loss in both cases! 😀

    Like

  2. jeff7salter says:

    Not hearing back is a bummer.
    But I can’t criticize anybody else who neglects to reply … since I’m guilty of that same thing (detailed in last week’s blog).

    Like

  3. First of all, I have to tel you that I was going through a terrible , terrible time in my personal life when “I’m Alive” was out.On a day when I was must upset,I was committed to going with my sister to take her young daughters and a friend’s kid to see “Xanadu”. Maybe you know that the movie opened with “I’m Alive”; it had a HUGE impact with me.I knew I would get through the problem,I would overcome all of it and I had my whole life ahead of me. To this day,I truly enjoy that song. I wonder how many people it touched?I wonder if Jeff Lynne,(lead singer of ELO and the song’s writer), has any idea of the impact?In his defense, things were really taking off for them at that time. Most groups don’t answer fan mail.They must have gotten a great deal of it then. Small world,though!

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      Jeff is who I wrote, bc I knew he wrote the song. I Love ELO’s music. I also Loved Xanadu when I saw it.. 🙂 I’ve no doubt they know the song’s impact in this small world where so many – you and I included – needed to hear it. No need to come to his defense. I never held it against him. I figured my letter was just one of many he received. And my self-esteem was at such a low point at that time right after my injury, I didn’t expect that he might think my letter was important enough to answer.

      Like

  4. Laurie Ryan says:

    Oooh, I wrote a fan letter, too. To Garth Brooks. It was after John Denver died (RIP, JD). I never took the time to tell him how much his music impacted me, so I did the next best thing and wrote to someone who’s music inspired me. Specifically Garth Brooks, more specifically a Christmas song of his called The Gift. So I wrote and thanked him. Never heard back, but it felt good to send the letter.
    I’m glad you found inspiration to get you through those hard, post-injury times.

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      TY, Laurie. I’ve never listened to GB. (Unless I did so w/o knowing about it.) Total Bummer about John Denver, huh? The world lost a very talented musician when he died. 😥

      Like

  5. pjharjo says:

    Yeah! Bad everybody who doesn’t respond! (I feel like I can say that bc I haven’t had to chance to respond/not, yet) LOL! I might be guilty of that one day in the future, but the day that will decide that has not arrived yet. 🙂

    I wouldn’t say it really hurt my ego, Iris. I too, had directed my letter to one specific person in the band. While I didn’t really expect a reply, I couldn’t help but hope for one. 🙂 Could be he didn’t even receive it. If he did, at least he knows the importance his song had for someone. 🙂 Whether he cares or not is his choice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

