Embarrassing Myself over, and over, and over, and…

But I learned that there’s a certain character that can be built from embarrassing yourself endlessly. If you can sit happy with embarrassment, there’s not much else that can really get to ya.
Christian Bale

I have embarrassed myself so many times; I can’t think of the most embarrassing that has happened to me. But I guess this week I’m just supposed to talk about someTHING really embarrassing, not the MOST embarrassing thing to happen to me.
The first that comes to my mind was when I locked myself out of an UNlocked car and called a locksmith to get me back into my car. What happened is that after I parked my car in my driveway, in front of my garage, I got out and went around to the passenger door to get something out.
When I tried to open my passenger door, I found it was locked, but when I reached into my pocket for my keys – they weren’t there! I looked inside the car and saw they were still in the ignition, but the passenger door was locked and I couldn’t get in!
I then went to a neighbor’s house and called a locksmith. When he got there he started to work on my locked passenger door.
Me: Why are you working on that door instead of the driver’s door?
Locksmith: Passenger doors are easier to get open.
Me (after I looked in the window through to the unlocked driver’s door): Why don’t I just go around and open the driver’s door for you?
He looked up at me.
I realized what I had just said.
We stared at each other. I covered my red face and started laughing because I was so embarrassed. He started laughing too. He left without charging me anything for his visit.
I figure he got payment enough with the story he had to take back to his shop! (I had forgotten that it’s impossible to lock the keys inside my car; the driver’s door won’t lock from the outside without a key.)

I’m not even blonde! (But I’ve been accused of being a blonde who has dyed her hair brunette bc of my many blonde moments.) LOL!

So I guess I handled it the same way I’ve handled all the other times I’ve embarrassed myself – I laughed at myself along with everyone else there. 🙂

The ability to laugh at myself has made life so much more enjoyable. How about you? Can you laugh at yourself?

About pjharjo

Janette is an author of Romantic Paranormal Fantasy. CONNECTIONS, her first series, is Indie published. You can follow her or sign up for her newsletter, and learn more about her new releases as they become available, at http://www.authorjanetteharjo.blogspot.com She lives in the beautiful and prolific Pacific NW of the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Embarrassing Myself over, and over, and over, and…

  1. I am going to excuse this one on the ground that you have had a TBI, but what a story! And what a kind fellow the locksmith was! I may be telling this one myself!
    On the other hand, my son gave me the car he had been driving and that stupid thing locks the doors all the time! I have been locked out several times. I always carry and extra key because my kids were always locking my keys in the car and one who gave me the car locked himself out a number of times.I had an extra key made so that I could rescue him, but even so,I have locked myself out with my purse in it.I have had to hide a key on it just for peace of mind.This car has a mind of its own.

    Like

  2. pjharjo says:

    LOL, Tonette! Your car with a mind all its own if Hilarious! It is IMPOSSIBLE for my car to lock me out. The driver’s door will NOT lock w/o using the key (unless you are inside). ‘m glad of that, but that locksmith is probably still entertaining folk with my story! You’re probably right about my previous injury having had a role in my forgetting the car was unlocked after all I went through to get a locksmith out there. LOL! Thanks for the humorous exchange!

    Like

  3. Laurie Ryan says:

    Yep, that’s a pretty funny goof. I like getting the chance to laugh with you about it. And kudos to you for being willing to share it. I think I embarrass myself on a daily basis, but nothing in particular comes to mind at the moment. Funny how selective memory can be. Lol

    Like

  4. Iris B says:

    Loved it! But life throws us days like that and it’s great to hear that the locksmith took it with great humour as well.
    Reminded me when I thought my remote car key batteries were flat as the car wouldn’t unlock, only to hear my daughter calling me from a few cars further down the streets asking me what I was doing …. OBVIOUSLY trying to open the wrong car 😉

    Like

  5. jeff7salter says:

    great story. Worthy of a column in the Possum Trot Tribune…

    Like

  6. pjharjo says:

    Please do share, Jeff! I’m glad you find my story noteworthy. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

