Anybody Out There?

By Jeff Salter

We’re contemplating whether intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe, where they might be, whether they’ve visited the earth, et cetera.
The executive summary of my position is: I have an open mind to the possibilities.
I’m no scientist, but I cut my teeth on Sci-Fi movies, stories, and TV shows — so my answers are: Yes they exist, I don’t know where, yes they’ve likely been here, and possibly some are still here now.
No, I’m not kidding.
Can I prove it? No.
Can you prove they don’t, haven’t, and aren’t?
Probably not.
So let’s call a truce: I’ll believe what I want and won’t strain to prove it to anybody else… and you believe what you wish and I won’t demand to see your documentation.

Why?
For any who are still reading this, I’ll try to explain – though it won’t likely justify it to any non-believers – WHY I believe what I believe about “aliens”.
First of all, there are supposedly billions of stars and solar systems and planets, etc., etc., etc. What are the mathematical chances that only ONE single speck in all that interstellar collage has any intelligent life?
I am intrigued by the plentiful evidence that various ancient cultures had certain technology that seemed to far outstrip any other aspects of their lives. I think it’s kind of romantic to think of aliens stopping in every few centuries, leaving gems of wisdom and science to help us along, and then moving on. [Perhaps they have many other stops on planets where they also help those other folks]. Can I prove it? Nope. Don’t need to. The fact that ancient cultures could draw maps and perspectives which can only be seen from outer space is merely one fascinating aspect of the jumble of ill-fitting information that intrigues me.

What I Don’t Believe
1. Do I believe that aliens have so immersed themselves in the daily lives of earthlings that they are responsible for our awareness of microchips, mylar, plastic wrap, Velcro, TV dinners, and infomercials?
No.
2. Do I believe that aliens have spent the years since 1947 working in military labs deep underground in the deserts of the American southwest?
Probably not.
3. Do I believe aliens have made contact with world leaders and signed treaties of one type or another which cede certain natural resources to THEM in return for their agreement not to blast us with ray guns?
Not likely. How could they trust politicians?
For the people who DO believe the three things I listed above, can I prove they’re wrong?
No.
And they can’t prove (to me) that they’re right.

Cover-ups
Do the various world governments know a lot more about alien life (and related matters) than they’re releasing to the public?
Absolutely.
Do I know all the reasons they’re keeping us in the dark?
No, but part of it seems to relate to nations’ logical and natural desires to keep secrets from other nations. And part of it seems to do with a belief that releasing some of the things they already know might cause world panic.
Can I prove that to your satisfaction?
No.
Can you convince me I’m wrong?
No.

Live and Let Live
Since I can’t prove most of what I believe about aliens, and you can’t convince me that I’m wrong…
And since you can’t prove most of what you believe about aliens, and I can’t convince you that you’re wrong…
Let’s just live and let live.
We’ll all find out when their Mother Ships loom over our world’s most influential cities and send out their scout planes to do what they will.
Until then — live and let live.

Opinions?
Without including any hostility, criticism, or bad language … what do you think about aliens?

About jeff7salter

Currently writing romantic comedy, screwball comedy, and romantic suspense. Twelve completed novels and five completed novellas. Working with three royalty publishers: Clean Reads, Dingbat Publishing, & TouchPoint Press/Romance. "Size Matters" -- Oct. 2016 "The Duchess of Earl" -- Jul. 2016 "Stuck on Cloud Eight" -- Nov. 2015, "Pleased to Meet Me" (novella) -- Oct. 2015, "One Simple Favor" (novella) -- May 2015, "The Ghostess & MISTER Muir" -- Oct. 2014, "Scratching the Seven-Month Itch" -- Sept. 2014, "Hid Wounded Reb" -- Aug. 2014, "Don't Bet On It" (novella) -- April 2014, "Curing the Uncommon Man-Cold -- Dec. 2013, "Echo Taps" (novella) -- June 2013, "Called To Arms Again" -- (a tribute to the greatest generation) -- May 2013, "Rescued By That New Guy in Town" -- Oct. 2012, "The Overnighter's Secrets" -- May 2012. Co-authored two non-fiction books about librarianship (with a royalty publisher), a chapter in another book, and an article in a specialty encyclopedia. Plus several library-related articles and reviews. Also published some 120 poems, about 150 bylined newspaper articles, and some 100 bylined photos. Worked about 30 years in librarianship. Formerly newspaper editor and photo-journalist. Decorated veteran of U.S. Air Force (including a remote ‘tour’ of duty in the Arctic … at Thule AB in N.W. Greenland). Married; father of two; grandfather of six.
This entry was posted in Jeff Salter, Life, Random thoughts, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Anybody Out There?

  1. jbrayweber says:

    I think it would be foolish to believe we are the only intelligent life forms in this vast universe, relatively speaking, of course. But I don’t believe aliens built the Pyramids of Giza.

    Great post, Jeff!

    Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Jenn.
      LOL about the great pyramids… because there are some folks who believe aliens were not only the architects of those structures, but participated in the construction by moving all those heavy stones.

      Like

    • I’ve read of sightings all over, many in G.B. They seem to become more numerous during atomic events, and since many occurred in and around the old USSR, news was suppressed,(not that it isn’t here).

      Like

  2. Agree to disagree is always a good place to be,Jeff. I must get my crazed thoughts down.As for cover-ups, I can tell you that my late father-in-law, the Naval helicopter pilot who was involved in two NASA space-capsule recoveries, saw something the-powers-that-be told him that he did not. I have no more info, but he knew what he saw was not “one of ours”.

    Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      What a shame we don’t know more about what your F-I-L saw, Tonette.
      One of my mom’s grandfathers saw a “cigar-shaped” flying object moving across the skies above rural Alabama … a long time before there were any known man-made, powered, flying craft (other than simple gas balloons).
      Wish I knew more about what he saw and more exactly WHEN.

      Like

  3. Iris B says:

    Another, yet slightly different, deeply thought through post … my thoughts haven’t changed, it still is not something I think about.
    Very quietly I’d like to add a little touch of cynicism though … I can’t help but wonder why most of the sightings are in the US ??

    Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      LOL, Iris. Actually there are SCADS of documented sightings in the USSR and in the U.K. But they face the same situation: some willing to believe in other-worldly explanations and others not.

      Like

      • Iris B says:

        SCADS ?
        I’m not talking as such sightings, but actual landings … like Roswell.

        Like

      • jeff7salter says:

        there’s a terrific landing event in Great Britain in the 1970s or 80s. It was at a military base called Bentwood or Brentwood. Eyewitnesses, radar, radiation, light beams, sound, the whole nine yards. Great stuff.

        Like

  4. Micki Gibson says:

    Wow! I don’t think I’ve ever agreed so much to one post, Jeff. Excellent way to put what you believe, don’t believe, and simply the fact that you don’t give a flip about whether you or anyone else can prove or disprove what you believe. Here’s a high-five to you!

    Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      Thanks, Micki.
      The whole can of worms is such a hot button deal — those who believe (all or part) are vehement. Those who discount (all or part) are equally adamant. So there’s hardly any room for compromise.
      About the only fact which both sides can agree on is: many people have seen many things which cannot adequately be explained to everyone’s satisfaction.
      Ha.

      Like

  5. pjharjo says:

    My thoughts are pretty much the same as yours, Jeff. :))

    Janette

    Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      I’ve read scores of articles on the related subjects, and probably dozens of books. The entire broad subject is of great interest to me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

