Marriages – they mature slowly

Fear is incomplete knowledge.
~~ Agatha Christie

Free week here on 4F1H.

Now I could talk about St Patrick’s Day, which is on the 17th March, but I suppose I did that last year. How much can one add to that?

The book “shout-out” was quite successful, I hope not only on our blog, but with sales as well. D’you think that could (or should?) be a regular feature?New Beginnings

Hey, talking about books, just squeezing in the information that I signed a contract with Astraea Press for the 3rd book in the Beginnings series – Fresh Beginnings. I can’t wait for this one to be released. It follows the USA trip I did with my husband and my two girls last year – OMG, almost one year ago to the day.

Let’s talk anniversaries.

I’ll be celebrating my 17th wedding anniversary this week. Geez, I can still remember our 1st anniversary. It was a bit like “Wow, one year done, how many more to go?” It was kind of a milestone, personally anyway. In a way more than the 5th, 10th or any other. For me number one was a big achievement. Now it’s been seventeen years, and we’re still going strong. We’re always trying to do something special – along the line like a nice dinner out (which, thanks to my histamine intolerance, we won’t do this year). One year we went to see Elton John and Billy Joel in concert, last year we went to America (LOL – yes, coincidence, but hey, who cares), this year we’ll go to my favourite place – the beach. For me, anniversaries (including birthdays) are important and I take any reason to have a little celebration! My calendar is full of little anniversaries!

Anybody having an anniversary this week as well we could celebrate?

About Iris B

Iris Blobel was born and raised in Germany and only immigrated to Australia in the late 1990s. Having had the travel bug most of her life, Iris spent quite some time living in Scotland, London as well as Canada where she actually had met her future husband. Her love for putting her stories onto paper has only recently emerged, but now her laptop is a constant companion. Iris resides west of Melbourne with her husband and her beautiful two daughters as well as her dog. Next to her job at a private school she also presents a German Program at the local Community Radio
This entry was posted in Australia, authors, Books, Family, Friendship, romance, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Marriages – they mature slowly

  1. First of all,Happy Anniversary! Things do change in the course of a marriage and it should always be for the better.
    I know a priest that once said that he cringes when ,at weddings, guests or the officiator make a speech and say that they hope the couple is as much in love in 20 years as they are that day; he prays that it grows. It is a strong test to see what people weather the storms of life. Congratulations but , may you have many more years to go!
    I once read that “Marriage is what keeps you together until you fall in love again”.I am so sorry that people see relationships as so disposable any more.
    As for the “Shout Out”, well, as far as I am concerned, that is the main reason for ‘free weeks’. So many here have books being published and have so many friends, I am inclined to use Free Weeks just in that manner, although I have not set anyone up this month.(I guess I’d better think of something to say for Friday. But you don’t think that’s hard for me!)
    So congrats again, Iris…and many more down the road for you!

    Like

  2. Happy Anniversary! That is awesome – and it just reminded me that my parents 40th is coming up… I should probably get them something…
    🙂

    Like

  3. pjharjo says:

    Every day is a celebration for me. 🙂 My birthday celebrations are all year long, Christmas is all year long, the celebration of my 1st contract is… I wasn’t thinking there would be any anniversary for me on the 18th, but I just remembered it’s the 4 month anniversary of the day I brought my momma up here to Washington state from Louisiana to live near me!

    Like

  4. pjharjo says:

    Oh, Happy Anniversary! 🙂

    Like

  5. jeff7salter says:

    Happy anniversary … and congratulations on the new contract at AP.
    I can’t think of any particular anniversary for myself, but I did receive (today) the draft of the cover for my short novella which is to be released next month. So I can celebrate that while youse guys are celebrating anniversaries.

    Like

Leave a Reply

