Peace and Long Life

We’re asked this week to talk about what we would do if we saw a spaceship land in our city. I am afraid I shot my bolt on the topic of space travelers in the first week!

[See “Gimme Some Space, Man!” 3-7-14.]

I have seen many a strange thing in the sky, night or other time. Some may well have been ‘ours’; that is, human, (and probably American),highly experimental forms of air/space travel. We are not told about everything that goes on by a long shot. How many of you know who long the design for the type ofย Flying Wing’,( like the Stealth Bomber), has been around? Almost as long as man dreamed of a flying machine. How long have any been in production? I don’t know, but what I can tell you is this: My parents worked for an aeronautics plant during World War II, just outside of Washington, D.C. My father was an electrical engineer who installed some of the first radar into ‘our’ planes and my mother was an executive secretary who had high security clearance, but even so, their experience in seeing of a prototype “Flying Wing” Bomber in the mid-1940’s was stretching even their privileges. They didn’t talk about it for decades, and then didn’t brag openly.

But that does not explain away some of what I have seen. And, as I stated in previous posts, since it seems that we have had close encounters of some kinds, I would like to think that since we have gone unmolested for so long by life forms obviously highly advanced in technology and who must have great self-control, I’d love to see what they had to say, and what they looked like.

Does any of my argument above make sense to anyone else?

Although I was disappointed in the “Star Trek:First Contact” movie, (especially by the trashing of the Zephraim Cochran character which was introduced so differently in the original Star Trek series), when I saw which species made ‘first contact’ with Earth, I cried; it was the Vulcans.

I’d love to be among the first to greet Vulcans.

I even know the proper response if they tell me to “Live long and prosper”. If you get there before I do, and it is the Vulcans, respond with, “Peace and long life.”

Just so ya know.

[If I don’t get back to you right away , bear with me. I have lunchtime date today with one of the most intelligent and nice men in town, a man I have not met with very oftenโ€ฆmy oral surgeon. I will get to you asap; I’m usually a good healer.]

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in childhood, Family, movies, Tonette Joyce, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Peace and Long Life

  1. I’ll vote for you to be the one to go greet the visitors! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll heat and cast two votes if they are Vulcan!

    Like

  2. jeff7salter says:

    hope things go well with your oral surgery today, Tonette.
    Not sure I’d want Vulcans involved in Earth exploration. As I recall the premise, Mr. Spock was only HALF Vulcan — & his daddy, full-blooded Vulcan, was war-like and hostile. The ‘charm’ of Spock came all from his mom’s (human) side.
    Right?

    Like

  3. No, you have Klingons mixed up with Vulcans,Jeff.Vulcans are peace-loving, if not really “loving” people.The insist that they are without emotion and cannot lie, but THAT is their biggest lie. The are a very logical and cool people, for the most part. Sarak, Spock’s father, was quite charming! And apparently I am not the only one who thinks so. After Spock’s mother had passed away, Sarak married another woman, a “Terran” one.(which is a nicer name for “Earthling”).
    Thanks, Jeff.It’s an invasive test.The discomfort afterward will be the only problem.I’m going out the door right now!

    Like

  4. Iris B says:

    All the best with the surgeon and a speedy recovery, Tonette
    As for Star Trek – I’ve gotta give you a “blank stare”, because I’ve so no idea about this franchise, but listening or “reading” here I think I really should have a crash course in “Star Trekking” ๐Ÿ™‚

    As for your “Flying Wing” … I think there are many of those ‘secret’ machines, research or constructions. It’s in human nature to keep things secret until they’re sure about it. Not sure whether that’s got anything to do with “aliens” or a assumed visit.

    Like

    • Thanks,Iris, as I expected,I am on the mend quickly, although I can’t say I am completely comfortable…results next week.
      I never meant to imply that the ‘Flying Wing’ had anything at all to do with aliens,(did I?).
      I used it as an example of unusual aircraft that the public did not know about, but did fly for many years ….and someone seeing it could well have thought it was NOT “one of ours”.
      Too bad.Star Trek, the original series, was usually pretty cheesy, but it was the characters that drew you in. The Next Generation was often better, as was Voyager.
      The Movies have had inconsistent story lines, but if you are a fan, well, you are a fan, and w you want MORE.
      I’m afraid that trying to drop in may leave y ou shaking your head at the rest of us,Iris!

      Like

  5. pjharjo says:

    I was not surprised to see your Vulcan response as a header in your post this week, Tonette. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s interesting you have seen a lot of unusual things in the sky; I can’t recall ever seeing any… Wait a minute, I take that back. On a flight in November headed into Louisiana I saw something outside my plane window. It was off in the distance, but was the strangest thing I have ever seen out a window. It was explained away to me as a storm, but it didn’t look like a storm. I know it was probably the perspective I saw it from, as opposed to from the ground, but it still looked alien to me and my vivid imagination. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Do I strike you as a Vulcan, or a Trekkie?LOL! (At least,I am not a ‘Trekker”; I do have a life away from StarTrek.)
      I’m far from alone, though Janette. My Naval-pilot father-in-law saw something that he tried to report .He was told that he'”did not see it”. He didn’t think it could have been “Terran”. We still don’t know. I think a lot of people have experienced many unusual things in many forms, either unusual something in the sky or something (non-extraterrestrial), here on Earth that they dismiss as imagination or , well, they just dismiss it.Ignorance is bliss, as they say.

      Like

      • pjharjo says:

        I was kinda thinking along the same lines when they told me it was a storm. What I saw really did look weird. Or, like I said, I could have been my active imagination! LOL I think of you as a Trekkie, ’cause you seem to know a lot about both. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      • Yeah, I plead guilty to Trekkiness!

        Like

Leave a Reply

