TV and Me, the Interviewee

By Tonette Joyce

Would I want to be interviewed on a big-time New York City TV talk show?

Such is our subject for this week and frankly, I don’t think so.

What would they ask me about? My opinions? Well, I have plenty, but very few of them are backed up by real expertise, although, granted, a lot of celebrities speak out on many matters in which they have no real expertise.

Oh, well, perhaps I would be interviewed because I am a celebrity???

Um…not YET, I’m not.

I’d hate for it to be because I survived some terrible man-made problem or natural disaster. Then, absolutely, I do not want to be interviewed on an NYC talk show; I don’t want there to be any reason for it!

Unless, of course we go back to our last month’s topic and I could be interviewed for being the first to greet the Vulcans.

Or I guess it actually could be for my profound and highly readable writings, (not to be judged by many of my blog posts, especially this one).

I have enjoyed David Letterman. I once laughed so hard thumbing through a Top 10 List book that I made a fool of myself in a Barnes and Noble, but he’d probably be the last person I’d want to interview me, seeing how he rags on everyone.

I know Barbara Walters is retiring, so she wouldn’t be in the running for the job, but it’s just as well. She digs deep into a person’s background and meaning behind their actions. I don’t know if I’d like baring my soul that much to the world. By the way, it is a fallacy that she always asks people what kind of tree they’d be. Once when she interviewed an elderly Katherine Hepburn the woman referred to herself as an old tree. Ms. Walters then asked her what kind of tree. That set nearly every journalism teacher to instruct their students to ask people what kind of tree they’d be in any and every interview, as something profound. It wasn’t. It just HAPPENED. Once. It only meant something in context to what ol’ Kate had said.

I suppose it would be the same if I sat down with Larry King, (who I don’t think is in NYC). Again, too soul-baring.

I like Tavis Smiley, (in LA) and Charlie Rose, (who IS in NYC), but again, until my brilliance as a writer has a profound effect on the world, it isn’t going to happen. If it does, watch for me on PBS.

Now that I think about it, with the way MY life works, I WILL be on PBS. If I do get anywhere near the point of being an interviewee, my big-name NYC interviewer would probably be Ernie, Grover or, (God-forbid), Elmo.

What are your thoughts?

[Please forgive me if I don’t get back to your comments quickly. Word Press and I have been experiencing technical problems. Thank you, Jeff, for posting this for me.]

About jeff7salter

Currently writing romantic comedy, screwball comedy, and romantic suspense. Twelve completed novels and five completed novellas. Working with three royalty publishers: Clean Reads, Dingbat Publishing, & TouchPoint Press/Romance. "Size Matters" -- Oct. 2016 "The Duchess of Earl" -- Jul. 2016 "Stuck on Cloud Eight" -- Nov. 2015, "Pleased to Meet Me" (novella) -- Oct. 2015, "One Simple Favor" (novella) -- May 2015, "The Ghostess & MISTER Muir" -- Oct. 2014, "Scratching the Seven-Month Itch" -- Sept. 2014, "Hid Wounded Reb" -- Aug. 2014, "Don't Bet On It" (novella) -- April 2014, "Curing the Uncommon Man-Cold -- Dec. 2013, "Echo Taps" (novella) -- June 2013, "Called To Arms Again" -- (a tribute to the greatest generation) -- May 2013, "Rescued By That New Guy in Town" -- Oct. 2012, "The Overnighter's Secrets" -- May 2012. Co-authored two non-fiction books about librarianship (with a royalty publisher), a chapter in another book, and an article in a specialty encyclopedia. Plus several library-related articles and reviews. Also published some 120 poems, about 150 bylined newspaper articles, and some 100 bylined photos. Worked about 30 years in librarianship. Formerly newspaper editor and photo-journalist. Decorated veteran of U.S. Air Force (including a remote ‘tour’ of duty in the Arctic … at Thule AB in N.W. Greenland). Married; father of two; grandfather of six.
This entry was posted in authors, Tonette Joyce, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to TV and Me, the Interviewee

  1. Iris B says:

    I’m sure your interview will be because of your very popular and bestselling books one day 😉
    As for your interviewer … I’d say naa to Barbara Wolters, don’t know her much, but gut-feeling always tells me she’s not my favourite …. it doesn’t’ surprise me that she comes back with “what kind of tree would you be”. 😦
    Is Larry not around anymore? Don’t know the others ….
    Wouldn’t you like to go head-to-head with Oprah or Ellen ?

    Like

    • Why, thank you,Iris! We’ll see what the future holds.
      To answer your q’s:I don’t think if I even said I was a tree, old Barbara would take the bait at this point!
      Larry king has a show on HULU. I often put it on the computer while I am puttering around the kitchen.
      I am amused by Ellen but sometimes she tries too hard and goes off-the-wall, a la Dave.I used to think she had a good heart but I was very upset over her treatment of Liza Minnelli at the Oscars,(even though I am not fan of Liza’s).
      Oprah? I don’t DISlike Oprah, but I really don’t want Oprah crying over things in my life;I have had enough of people ‘stealing my thunder’!

      Like

  2. I like Barbara Walters. She’d be fair, I think, and she doesn’t interrupt the way others do. Larry King bothers me, but I’m not sure why…and I do agree it would not be pleasant to be interviewed as the lone survivor of a disaster. I guess I’ll take solace in my relative anonymity – since this is not my real name…

    Like

    • I think you are on to the secret of Barbara Walter’s success, Patricia.People who seldom or otherwise never give interviews have talked to Barbara.I don’t think I have ever seen her interrupt or put words in anyone’s mouth, nor have I seen her ask a question that she did not give them time to answer or refute.
      I used to be very private; I still am in some ways. I thought of going with a nom de plume, but I just use my maiden name.I had copyrights under “T.Joyce” for many years.
      Thanks you for stopping in and commenting,Patricia!

      Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    If you get interviewed by a Sesame Street Character, take me with you.
    I’d want Oscar the Grouch to interview me. I believe we have a lot in common.

    Like

  4. pjharjo says:

    I enjoyed your article, Tonette (posted via Jeff). Especially the part about who your interviewer will probably be! LOL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

