Knights in Shining White Armour

An impossible myth Stories you were told or heard when you were a child. I guess I’m going to have to go back to the basic fairy tale on this one. I grew up looking forward to the prince in shining white armour who would one day come and sweep me off my feet to live happily ever after with him. His only passion in life would be to see to my happiness. YAY! Snow White and Prince Charming What a fantasy?? Can it get any MORE fantastic than that?? I suppose that’s one reason why I write about Happily-Ever-After’s. They only exist in fiction. Oh yeah. I’ve heard the stories of couples who claim to have met their one and only soul-mate and who live in bliss, but, come on!! We all know there are struggles in every marital relationship; they just aren’t aired in public. I know there are couples who live in “marital bliss” for many years. At least that’s what we are all led to believe. Though things usually “come out in the wash” at sometime or another, or after they’ve passed on. the one who shines the armour More power to you if you really do have a “perfect no problems ever” type of relationship. I’m sorry, but I don’t believe the perfect relationship exists. Sorry to be such a downer on this topic, I’m just sayin’

you're the guy

About pjharjo

Janette is an author of Romantic Paranormal Fantasy. CONNECTIONS, her first series, is Indie published. You can follow her or sign up for her newsletter, and learn more about her new releases as they become available, at http://www.authorjanetteharjo.blogspot.com She lives in the beautiful and prolific Pacific NW of the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Knights in Shining White Armour

  1. Laurie Ryan says:

    Imperfection doesn’t mean it’s not still a happily-ever-after. If life didn’t have downs, we wouldn’t appreciate the ups, eh? I do this thing…when I’m done writing a story? I imagine the characters 25 years down the road. It’s not something I blog about, I just do it to remind me that HEA’s don’t mean there aren’t still flaws. 🙂

    Like

  2. pjharjo says:

    I guess my take on Happily-Ever-After comes from the literality of the word, “Ever” – Endlessly, constantly, continuously… 🙂 That’s how my mind thinks; Literally.

    Like

  3. It doesn’t have to end badly, in fact, sometimes it gets better, but you are right about it never being always perfect.Anyone who says that is lying or is really ‘settling’ and doesn’t want much out of a relationship…or life.
    I have divorced,( and sometimes), oft-married relatives who say they think I either found a perfect life or admire me for how well I have managed.Well, married life has not at all always been easy,and I know my husband would be the first to second that….with embellishments! 31 1/2 years and it’s better now than many rough spots,(but I can’t guarantee I can write the same tomorrow!)
    I think if I hear the term ‘soul-mate’ one more time I may get physically ill.If I hear the it in the context of “He left me! He was my SOUL-MATE”, I may become physically aggressive.
    I’m all for writing and reading HEA’s!

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Tonette! I did not mean to imply that every relationship would end badly just because it wasn’t perfect; I only meant that I don’t believe in Happily-Ever-After no matter how much one would swear they have it. Kinda like you implied by saying it’s not always easy. Long relationships can be done, but not with perfection – as the word EVER implies.

      Like

  4. jeff7salter says:

    people are human
    humans are imperfect
    some try harder than others
    I saw a quote one time from Billy Graham, describing his marriage to Ruth. He said (perhaps not an exact quote) “Ruth and I are happily incompatible.”

    Like

  5. Iris B says:

    Wow, Janette …. what can I say …. I’m a bit stunned about this negative outburst …. As much as I agree that there’s no perfect, I’d like to think there are many many relationships that are deeper than just the few words “I love you”.

    Like

  6. pjharjo says:

    Thanks for understanding, Iris! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

