Apologies

Although I deleted my last post, [Stories Told In and Out of School],it is bound to be somewhere out in cyberspace, and I am very sorry that it is.

We were to write this week about stories told to us when we were young, and in it I inquired about a story told to me and my siblings by our father.We could not remember the ending, and I had  hoped someone could enlighten me.

What I did not know is that we were told a version of the story that was “politically corrected”, and apparently edited by my father, or perhaps his mother before him, as she was not in the least bit prejudiced, either.

I had no idea that the story had roots in ugly caricature stereotypes  shamefully used by the worst bigots within our country. Since I have not heard this story in any form in half a century, let us pray that such stories are in the past, never to be repeated again. I am terribly sorry  that I opened a door to it at all, but I assure you, I never would have had I known there was anything offensive or  even remotely suggested as such within the story.

For the first time I am glad that I had few visitors to my post and I now ask  that anyone who may still have it within their email to please delete it. I thank Jeff Salter for his gentle information and links to stories much like the one I had in my post.The links enlightened me to the roots of the story and I  did not have to read far to see that I  needed to remove any  connection with it from this blog and frankly, anything about it attached to my, (our),  good name(s).

Thank you and gain, I apologize. I truly had no idea.

 

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in Tonette Joyce. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apologies

  1. pjharjo says:

    Don’t worry so much about it, Tonette. We all know you are not that type, and you didn’t know about the story’s origin, anyway. Your parents probably didn’t, either. I agree that stories full of hatred and bigotry should be erased from existence. But we do need to remember the past so we don’t repeat it.

    Take Care,

    Janette

    Like

    • Thank you,Janette.YOU know me, as do some others, but many do not and I would hate to have anyone believe that I subscribe to any of the bigotry connected with the story.My father may well have known the story in its “bad form”, but his family was not prejudiced.He/they took the best of the story and made it a better one without it being about race.Unfortunately,many people would not know that. I wash my hands of it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

