Concerts

Hmm So this week we’re talking about concerts. I haven’t been to too many. My memory tells me of 5 – The Grateful Dead, The Moody Blues, Trans-Siberian Orchestra, Santana, and The Monkees.
My former husband and I had tickets to see The Beach Boys once, but they cancelled due to lack of ticket sells. Say What?? I so wanted to see them live and can’t imagine why they didn’t sell enough tickets. It was before Dennis Wilson died in ’83, which meant it would have been the entire original band we would have seen. (Of course, no one knew it at the time, but in hindsight…)
Of the previous 4 I mentioned; I enjoyed The Moody Blues & TSO the best. I won tickets off a radio station to see The Moody Blues at The Gorge in Washington. I really Loved listening to them live! They were as great as I ever remember them being!! I danced all night, even though I was seated on the ground overlooking the stage.

The Moody Blues

I went to see TSO in Seattle with my boyfriend. Although TSO performed inside, they staged an awesome performance with fire and special effects, too! They’ve got a must-see show!

Trans-Siberian Orchestra

Santana is a Great showman with his guitar! I enjoyed him more than I did TGD. (They played together) I didn’t know I would enjoy Santana as much as I did, but for that, I am glad I went along with the van-load of peeps who went.

Santana

I had no interest in seeing The Dead. Can’t say as I enjoyed their show at all –
The others I went with were really into them, though. We went to the concert site the night before and camped out so as to have a good spot in line. Imagine that? I am not the type of person who would ordinarily do such a thing.

The Greatful Dead camping in parking lot

My former and I went to see The Monkees just as kind of a fluke. They were my FAVs when I was growing up, and they played at the local fair (The Puyallup) one year, so we went. It wasn’t the whole band. Mike Nesmith didn’t do the get-together thing with Micky, Peter, and Davy.

The Monkees

I might remember others after I post. You know about my memory thing. As it is, I began this post with just 3 and then I remembered 2 more as I typed this!

How about you? Have you been able to see any of the 5 I’ve seen? If so, what’s your opinion? What’s your favorite band – growing up and now?

About pjharjo

Janette is an author of Romantic Paranormal Fantasy. CONNECTIONS, her first series, is Indie published. You can follow her or sign up for her newsletter, and learn more about her new releases as they become available, at http://www.authorjanetteharjo.blogspot.com She lives in the beautiful and prolific Pacific NW of the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Concerts

  1. I haven’t seen any that you’ve seen – but I’d love to go see TSO!! that would be a dream! 🙂

    Like

  2. pjharjo says:

    You’ve got that right!! I could watch their show over and over and OVER again! 🙂

    Like

  3. I swear, I must have been absolutely POSSESSED to have come up with some of the topics this month!
    You sound like you had a great time.Gosh, don’t you just HATE missed opportunities?

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      So, YOU’RE to blame for this month’s topics! LOL! I did have a great time at the Moody Blues concert and TSO! I wish I could do it over and over and over again! Yes. I REALLY hate missing The Beach Boys! Have you ever missed something you HATED to miss? Hey! I should have asked that question after my blog!

      Like

      • Not a exactlyconcert, but my biggest regret was not getting near Mother Teresa when I had half a chance. I should have figured out a way to do it. She was in Denver and I knew the people who had brought her into town , driving her around and were meeting with her before her speech there. Bummer.

        Like

      • pjharjo says:

        😦 I’m not Catholic, but can understand your disappointment, T.

        Like

  4. Iris B says:

    Hahahaha … if I’d had the time, my post would’ve looked like that.

    Go Girl, you seem to have been to a lot of concerts. I used to love going to concerts and went to MANY during my late teens 🙂 Although, my “taste” in music SLIGHTLY if not completely varies from yours. LOL

    Great post!

    Like

  5. pjharjo says:

    I didn’t get to attend any concerts as a girl. All my experiences came as an adult. I’m sure your “taste” does differ from mine. 😉

    Like

  6. jeff7salter says:

    I enjoyed the music of the Beach Boys, Moody Blues, and Monkees — and therefore wish I could have heard the ORIGINAL bands in performance at some point.
    Not sure I’m crazy about these groups which reassemble decades later with maybe one of the original members and try to make similar sounds.

    Like

  7. Laurie Ryan says:

    I wish I’d had a chance to see The Moody Blues. I love their music, although I have to say, picking up their retro-cd was a mistake. The re-mixed music was wonderful, but the band comments about how this (my favorite album of theirs) was fraught with arguments and how they broke up after this album…kind of deflated my love of the music.

    Like

  8. pjharjo says:

    The Moody Blues WERE the Moody Blues, Jeff. 🙂 I agree with you about groups who try to reassemble with their core missing. The Monkees sounded pretty much the same without Mike. But DARN! I wish I could’ve seen The Beach Boys!! We had tickets and everything!

    Like

  9. pjharjo says:

    Total Major Bummer about their reason for splitting, Laurie! I love them! Wish you could’ve seen them, too. 🙂 They were AWESOME, live!

    Like

Leave a Reply

