Come, and play for me

Happy Monday everyone!

We had the winter solstice on Saturday and I cannot tell you, how much I’m looking forward to the days getting longer. So far it hasn’t been all that bad, but truth is, I’m more a summer girl 🙂

Today is the 23 June, which is the 174th day of the year in the Gregorian calendar and there are 191 days remaining until the end of the year. Also, it’s National Pink Day, so I’m hoping you’re wearing at least something small that is pink, and it’s Public Service Day as well.

Our topic for today is “At a Play”. It took me a while to think of what to write, but I’ve come up with something.

Possibly not the first play I went to, but one that comes to mind, was “The Mousetrap” by Agatha Christie. Unfortunately, I hadn’t been able to get tickets for the London show, but did get to see it a few years later at our local theatre. It was one of the performances that always intrigued me, and I have to say, even though it was the original, I very much enjoyed it.

An even more memorable, or I should even say, unforgettable performance (yes, I’m stretching the “Play” here a little bit!) was when I went to see Audrey Hepburn and the London Symphony Orchestra “presenting the life of Anne Frank through the words of her diary and Tilson’s composed music” at the London Barbican Centre in 1991. It was a highlight of my time in London and from memory, we even had the honour of seeing the Duchess of Kent.

Of course, I knew Anne Frank’s story, but to have someone like Audrey Hepburn, Miss Golightly, read it to you … no words can describe the feeling. It’s something I’ll never forget. The whole place was in awe as she stood on the stage, humbly dressed in black, reading her script, and gracefully wiping the occasional tear from her face.

Is there a “play” you’ve been to, you enjoyed so much, you think about it often?

 

About Iris B

Iris Blobel was born and raised in Germany and only immigrated to Australia in the late 1990s. Having had the travel bug most of her life, Iris spent quite some time living in Scotland, London as well as Canada where she actually had met her future husband. Her love for putting her stories onto paper has only recently emerged, but now her laptop is a constant companion. Iris resides west of Melbourne with her husband and her beautiful two daughters as well as her dog. Next to her job at a private school she also presents a German Program at the local Community Radio
This entry was posted in Australia, authors, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Come, and play for me

  1. jeff7salter says:

    wow. very cool to have seen Audrey Hepburn live. I didn’t see all of her films, but some of them are among my favorites.

    Like

  2. I can’t help but like Audrey Hepburn,; you can see her warmth shine through in her performances.I love the work she did for refugees, having been one herself,I t was good to see that she did not ‘get and forget’ as they say.
    I will venture into headhunter territory this the next statement,I’ll bet, as I will mostly be swimming against the tide:The only performance I have NOT liked of hers was of Holly Golightly. Really, the character did not arouse my sympathy and as far as I am concerned, it could have been better cast. I found the performance strained.
    I can imagine that Miss Hepburn would have given a very deep and moving performance reading Anne Frank.She was not far from her at the same time, a little younger ,under different circumstances, but still, I am sure too close for her not to have real empathy.

    Like

  3. My son is in theatre, so I’ve been watching “plays” for years now! And since reaching High School, the shows have gotten much better! We did go see Wicked last summer, and that was awesome! 🙂
    I can only imagine how awesome it would be to see Hepburn perform!

    Like

    • Iris B says:

      I heard about Wicked … I missed it here in Melbourne but it sounded great .
      Oh well, we should’ve had you as a guest blogger this week with all your “play” experience 😉

      Like

  4. pjharjo says:

    Wow, Iris. I wish I had the “Play” experience you’ve had!

    Like

Leave a Reply

