That Just Sucks!

I forgot to post yesterday, but Tonette has told me to go for it, so I am. And that’s NOT the reason for the title I have chosen for today’s belated post, which is supposed to be about pet peeves concerning phrases. Since I just remembered about my Tuesday post this morning (when I thought it was Tuesday morning), my post is going to be short.
Back to my headline sentence; it or anything that contains the final word in that sentence, is something I hate to hear. It just seems to imply. Well I just don’t like to hear it. What do you think? Am I the only one who has a derogative impression of the word?

About pjharjo

Janette is an author of Romantic Paranormal Fantasy. CONNECTIONS, her first series, is Indie published. You can follow her or sign up for her newsletter, and learn more about her new releases as they become available, at http://www.authorjanetteharjo.blogspot.com She lives in the beautiful and prolific Pacific NW of the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to That Just Sucks!

  1. Laurie Ryan says:

    It’s a word I use in my writing sometimes, but it’s not my favorite. 🙂

    Like

  2. Actually, you are right.It originated from a very nasty expression and it still holds that connotation; maybe it’s just because I am old enough to remember WHERE it came from, but I’d never feel comfortable saying it.

    Like

  3. pjharjo says:

    Shame on you, Laurie. LOL! JK! Yeah, Tonette. Every time I hear the word used as a “dis” my mind automatically goes back to where it came from. To me it’s just another four letter word, and I don’t talk or write that way. 🙂

    Like

  4. jeff7salter says:

    I remember a phase when teens would say, “That really Hoovers” and then giggle. Of course, they knew they were being naughty but that was during a brief period when the word was NOT allowed in polite society. Of course, we hardly have any polite society left now and this word appears on network TV and everywhere else.

    Like

Leave a Reply

