What’s the Nudelholz got to do with it?

Is it Monday already?

Today is the 21 July, the 202nd day of the year in the Gregorian calendar. There are 163 days remaining until the end of the year.

It is also, as unbelievable as it sounds, it’s National Junk Food Day. Go, and have a burger today 😉

After Pet Peeve Phrases, and Figure of Speeches (yes I cheated by posting my daughter’s post), this week we’re going into foreign territory – literally!

Foreign Phrases. Well, do I have foreign phrases to tell you!

There are a few phrases which one can hear often in this household, and I’d say the most regular one would be: “Kleine Sűnden straft der Herr sofort”, which translates roughly to “The Lord punishes small sins instantly”. Sounds better in German right 😉Nudelholz

Another one you’d hear often when we’re in the car is “Frau am Steuer” – “Woman behind the steering wheel”. To not step on anybody’s foot, I won’t go into further details here! LOL.

Then there’s “Wie der Herr so’s Gescherr” … which is “The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree”

“Der Wind, der Wind, das himmlische Kind” – I think it’s from “Hansel & Gretel”, Who did it? “The Wind, the heavenly child” – in other words, not me, and I don’t know who did it or I don’t want to tell you.

“Geh mit Gott aber geh!” …. Yeah, I use that a bit, too. Quietly, though. It translate more or less to “Go with God, but just leave”

And then … of course … how could I forget “C’est la vie” … I’d say everyone likes this one. 

Have a wonderful week, my friends, but before you go, tell me whether you have a favourite foreign phrase and which one is it?

ஐ  Auf Wiederseh’n  ஐ  À bientôt  ஐ  Arrivederci  ஐ  slán a fhágáil  ஐ

About Iris B

Iris Blobel was born and raised in Germany and only immigrated to Australia in the late 1990s. Having had the travel bug most of her life, Iris spent quite some time living in Scotland, London as well as Canada where she actually had met her future husband. Her love for putting her stories onto paper has only recently emerged, but now her laptop is a constant companion. Iris resides west of Melbourne with her husband and her beautiful two daughters as well as her dog. Next to her job at a private school she also presents a German Program at the local Community Radio
This entry was posted in Australia, authors, childhood, Family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What’s the Nudelholz got to do with it?

  1. Oh, great! Here I am on a really tight diet and you hand me Junk Food Day! Sheesh!
    You have a leg-up on the rest of us,being proficient in German and English, Iris.
    ( I see you threw us a token French saying!) I LOVE the German ones you offered! I find German to be easy and fascinating;I wish I had kept up my studies. I have a similar saying like one of yours that I use:”Don’t go away mad, just go away!” . I say it just after they have FINALLY left. Yours is nicer.
    I have a lot of Italian ones in my head since that is what I heard until twelve years ago…but that is probably part of Friday’s post.

    Like

    • Iris B says:

      Apologies, I wanted to reply earlier, but when I saw your comment about German being easy, I fainted ….. LOL
      Have to remember your saying, not sure, but I think “mine” has lost a bit of its intensity during translation … not really meant to be that nice.
      Look forward to reading what kind of Italian phrases you come up with on Friday.
      Ciao Bella!

      Like

      • German was easy for me, Iris,; I just don’t remember it well.I only took classes for a couple of months when I was in my early 20’s…never mind how many years ago.
        I think you will be surprised on Friday.

        Like

      • pjharjo says:

        German?? Easy, Tonette?? Those are two words that shouldn’t be used in the same phrase, imho. 🙂

        Like

      • Iris B says:

        I humbly agree, Tonette ….

        Like

      • Perhaps I was German in my past life…I found it easy to pick up.Now, I can’t promise I would have become an expert.

        Like

      • pjharjo says:

        While I visited my son in Germany, he also told me that German was a pretty easy language, since “English is a Germanic language.” Maybe I had such a hard time with it bc I tried to learn in in an American college classroom instead of in the land as he was.

        Like

  2. Go with God, but just leave. hahahahahahahaha – that one is awesome!

    Like

  3. pjharjo says:

    Yes, Iris. I assumed you would have plenty to say on this subject since you have lived in more than one country. 🙂 You mentioned a few that sounded pretty funny! I can just imagine what one could hear in your household. auf Wie·der·seh·en came to my mind while reading your post. It’s a nice one, too. There’s also a song that comes to mind, but that’s as far as my mind will take me. LOL! I can’t remember who sang it or the song’s name. But as we discussed last week; I’m sure I’ll remember it as soon as I click send!

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      Danke Schoen by Wayne Newton! That’s the song! I find myself singing that line from time to time when the time is right. 🙂

      Like

    • Iris B says:

      We don’t say Auf Wiedersehen here, not sure why, if at all we’d say T’schuess. 🙂
      I had to Google Wayne Newton’s song. I had an idea though, because there are many versions of it in all kinds of languages 🙂 Peter Alexander, one of the very great entertainer in German show business, used to sing the song at the end of his show.

      Like

      • I think Auf Wiedersehen is just rather out-of-fashion. Few in Italy say, “Arrivederci” anymore, and no one in America says, “Fair thee well!”, unless it’s some character being comedically overly dramatic.( Guilty!)

        Like

      • Iris B says:

        Not at all, Tonette, but Auf Wiederseh’n is more formal, you wouldn’t use it often with friends or family.

        Like

      • pjharjo says:

        I figured you’d need to Google WN’s song, Iris. 🙂 It’s an old one. I remember it from my parents.

        Like

  4. jeff7salter says:

    can’t believe nobody sent me an invitation to the Junk Food Day celebration!
    Several good expressions here, but my fav. is:
    “Go with God, but just leave”

    Like

Leave a Reply

