One Fib Hidden Among Three Truths

Three Truths and a Lie

Jeff Salter

We’re all about fibs this week.

I think I’ve participated in a variation of this at least three other times. No longer recall which stories I’ve used. Every time, however, I’ve made the lie too easy to spot.

But for this one, I really believe I can stump you. To make it even more tricky, all of these are from my younger years, when most of youse guys didn’t even know me.

So let’s see if you can tell which ONE statement is a lie.

# 1
            With a lit firecracker in my hand, I fell out of a tree, briefly blacked-out, and came to on a lower branch of that same tree… where I’d landed on my tailbone. About 13 yrs old.

# 2
            Unlike many red-blooded kindergartners, I never played “doctor” with the neighborhood girls.

# 3
            As a middle-schooler, I jumped off the roof of my house… just so I could say I’d done it.

# 4
            In my middle teens, I ate two BK Whoppers (at one sitting)… just to try to impress some girls.

Think about them before you guess. And please let us know HOW you reached your decision on which one is the fib.

About jeff7salter

Currently writing romantic comedy, screwball comedy, and romantic suspense. Twelve completed novels and five completed novellas. Working with three royalty publishers: Clean Reads, Dingbat Publishing, & TouchPoint Press/Romance. "Size Matters" -- Oct. 2016 "The Duchess of Earl" -- Jul. 2016 "Stuck on Cloud Eight" -- Nov. 2015, "Pleased to Meet Me" (novella) -- Oct. 2015, "One Simple Favor" (novella) -- May 2015, "The Ghostess & MISTER Muir" -- Oct. 2014, "Scratching the Seven-Month Itch" -- Sept. 2014, "Hid Wounded Reb" -- Aug. 2014, "Don't Bet On It" (novella) -- April 2014, "Curing the Uncommon Man-Cold -- Dec. 2013, "Echo Taps" (novella) -- June 2013, "Called To Arms Again" -- (a tribute to the greatest generation) -- May 2013, "Rescued By That New Guy in Town" -- Oct. 2012, "The Overnighter's Secrets" -- May 2012. Co-authored two non-fiction books about librarianship (with a royalty publisher), a chapter in another book, and an article in a specialty encyclopedia. Plus several library-related articles and reviews. Also published some 120 poems, about 150 bylined newspaper articles, and some 100 bylined photos. Worked about 30 years in librarianship. Formerly newspaper editor and photo-journalist. Decorated veteran of U.S. Air Force (including a remote ‘tour’ of duty in the Arctic … at Thule AB in N.W. Greenland). Married; father of two; grandfather of six.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to One Fib Hidden Among Three Truths

  1. Jeanne57@gmail.com says:

    I’m guessing #2. The first one seems too obvious to be a lie, #3 sounds typical, and knowing how much you love to eat, #4 sounds like something you’d do. Besides, we all KNOW what a GOOD boy you’ve always been. *wink*

    Like

  2. It seems to me that we discussed both of us breaking our tailbones at 13…(or was it someone else?)
    I can see you jumping off the roof…preacher’s sons do things like that…
    as well as play doctor., although I am tempted to say one of those.
    However, for a fun guess,I’m willing to bet that you ate THREE Whoppers!

    Like

  3. jbrayweber says:

    #2 It was in your delivery – a statement.

    Like

  4. I think it was #2, i can’t imagine you playing “doctor”. The firecracker one seems like something that could happen but only to a few people so I am guessing that it probably did happen to you. Just about every middle school boy I have ever known has jumped off a roof. AND I believe that you at those whoppers to try to impress a girl. So it has to be #2.

    Like

  5. Opal says:

    I see a pattern here. Two relate to girls and the other two are about daring events. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. I tend to think #3. As much of a super stud as I think you are 🙂 I doubt that you were ever very tentative with the ladies 😀 HOWEVER, jumping from the roof just so you could say you did seems a little out there IMHO 🙂

    Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      fascinating logic in your thought process, Opal. I will reveal the TRUE FIB by tomorrow morning when y’all are back here for Tonette’s blog.

      Like

  6. Janet Butler says:

    Since I’ve known a lot of kids who never played doctor, and I know several kids who did variations of #1 and #3, I’ll vote for #4 as a fib. I can’t see you doing anything like that JUST to impress girls. It’ be more likely to be a bet between guys, and it’d be more likely to be the BEGINNING of what you all had to eat to impress each other. 🙂

    Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      Thanks for guessing Janet. Out of the six votes recorded so far, three have been for # 2, one for # 3, and two for # 4. Nobody has yet guessed that # 1 could be a fib!
      Stay tuned and I’ll reveal the truth tomorrow morning.

      Like

  7. Jannette Spann says:

    My guess would be #1. I find it impossible to fall ‘out’ of a tree and still be ‘in’ the same tree when you wake up.

    Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      Thanks for participating, Jannette. Well, that gives me at least one guess for each of the four statements.
      Stay tuned for the TRUTH of the matter — which I’ll reveal tomorrow morning after Tonette posts her blog.

      Like

  8. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I’ll go with #4 because…you have food on the mind a lot (it seems) and I don’t think you were trying to impress girls. Yet.

    Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      Hmm. I think boys start trying to impress girls when they’re still in the cradle, Patty. But still that’s a valid guess. I’ll REVEAL tomorrow morning.

      Like

  9. pjharjo says:

    Again I will say that I have NOT read any of the guesses or responses to your list, Jeff. I’m once more flying by the seat of my pants here. 🙂

    So let’s see if you can tell which ONE statement is a lie.

    # 1
    With a lit firecracker in my hand, I fell out of a tree, briefly blacked-out, and came to on a lower branch of that same tree… where I’d landed on my tailbone. About 13 yrs old.

    This one sounds like it could be true, you being a little boy and all, but I’m not sure.

    # 2
    Unlike many red-blooded kindergartners, I never played “doctor” with the neighborhood girls.

    I would expect you would have played “doctor,” too.

    # 3
    As a middle-schooler, I jumped off the roof of my house… just so I could say I’d done it.

    This one, too, sounds like it could be true.
    # 4
    In my middle teens, I ate two BK Whoppers (at one sitting)… just to try to impress some girls.

    As does this one.

    You have not given anything away here, that’s for sure. I’m going to guess #1 is the falsehood bc of the “lit” firecracker you say you held. Are you missing a hand??

    Like

  10. jeff7salter says:

    Okay — sorry to be later than I’d planned.
    the fib in my grouping is # 2 … about playing doctor.
    Actually I DID play “doctor” with two neighborhood girls when I was in kindergarten.
    I no longer remember their names.
    As I recall, it was at their instigation and I had never even heard of the game. Our “operating table” was a concrete picnic table under a covered structure that might have been a gazebo.
    I think three of you guessed correctly.

    Like

  11. jeff7salter says:

    yeah, that’s a great song…

    Like

Leave a Reply

