A Non-Cook’s Recipe

If last week’s topic was a challenge, this week’s is even more so! I don’t cook much – not because I can’t, and not because I don’t want to, but because I don’t have to. When hubby and I divided the labor thirty-odd years ago, he decided to be the chief cook in our house. The main reason for that was because he got home from work three to four hours before me. Besides, his job required him to get up so early in the morning that if he waited for me to get dinner ready he’d be sound asleep by the time it was on the table. The only time I cook is when he’s sick (which isn’t often) or when he’s not home (which is even less often). So a favorite recipe was really hard for me to come up with.

My time in the kitchen is usually limited to making dessert. And since I have firmly waged war on my spare tire, dessert-making has come to a screeching halt. Now I just cut up veggies and fruit for my snacks, and set aside my portion of the main course before it gets smothered in whatever kind of sauce hubby prepares.

My go-to veggies are cucumbers and tomatoes. Since hubby is a meat-and-potatoes kind of guy, he often forgets to include a vegetable for our meal. I’ve gotten used to this and try to stay prepared. Greek Salad is a quick and easy addition to a meal. In fact, it’s so easy it seems silly to call this a recipe, but here goes:

Greek Salad
(makes two large servings)

1 medium tomato, cut into cubes
1 small cucumber, peeled and cut into pieces similar to tomato
¼ medium red onion, cut into thin slices
¼ cup crumbled feta cheese
3 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 Tablespoon red wine vinegar
a bit of oregano
Most recipes call for kalamata olives, but since I don’t like those I leave them out.

Combine veggies and cheese. Combine olive oil and vinegar and pour over the top. Garnish with oregano.
That’s it! My kind of recipe. Cut, mix, eat. The picture below is what it SHOULD look like when it’s done.

Greek-Salad-3

What’s on your menu tonight?

 

Side note & promo: I ate a LOT of Greek Salad during my trip to Greece in 2008. My youngest daughter did a study abroad on the Greek Island of Paros, and of course I had to go and make sure she was okay! After I got home, I decided to write a story set there, and in 2012 Astraea Press released Aegean Intrigue. If you click on the book cover you can read more about it!

AegeanIntrigueFinal750

About Patricia Kiyono

During her first career, Patricia Kiyono taught elementary music, computer classes, elementary classrooms, and junior high social studies. She now teaches music education at the university level. She lives in southwest Michigan with her husband, not far from her five children, nine grandchildren (so far), and great-granddaughters. Current interests, aside from writing, include sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, and music. A love of travel and an interest in faraway people inspires her to create stories about different cultures. Check out her sweet historical contemporary romances at her Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Kiyono/e/B0067PSM5C/
This entry was posted in Patricia Kiyono, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Non-Cook’s Recipe

  1. What a great recipe, Patricia! One that would fit perfectly on my other blog, as it’s easy and fast, yet impressive and homemade..plus, it’s healthy! This would make a great antipasto.

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      Feel free to use the recipe for your blog, Tonette! And thanks for reminding me to share the story about how I came to love Greek salads. I’ve edited the post.

      Like

      • Maybe you would like to come in for a guest post? I’m starting a series on appetizers , antipasti, etc. (I’ve been trying to get The Hound to do one on gluten-free choices for years.) Please consider it and feel free to plug your work.

        Like

  2. I might have to try that.

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      I love it, Angela! My hubby won’t eat it because he doesn’t like feta cheese, and one son doesn’t like tomatoes, and a daughter doesn’t like cucumber – so I usually don’t have to share!

      Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    I’m not a big fan of salads, so I won’t likely try your recipe. No offense.
    I think it’s wonderful that your husband’s schedule and talent (& interest) has turned into a separation of labors which benefits and pleases you both.
    A lot of meal times at my house are basically whichever person first mentions being hungry… has to come up with a solution. Ha.

    Like

  4. pjharjo says:

    Lucky You to have your own personal cook! Thanks for the recipe. I LOVE Greek Salads!

    Like

Leave a Reply

