SNOWFLAKES!

Second Chances

I LOVE The Snowflakes here at 4F1H!

I’ve decided to let you all know me just a little bit better with today’s post.

Second Chances

My life’s been hard, but as I look back I can see it’s been full of second chances.

I liked to jump my ponies over little irrigation ditches during my pre-teenage years.  One day the pony didn’t make it over the ditch.  The next thing I remember is I was sitting on my bed playing with my Barbie dolls with a friend.  I imagine I asked her what was going on, or when she came over.

She told me I had been saying really weird things.  I obviously still didn’t have much sense about me because I don’t remember asking her what I’d been saying.  All I know is that my pony was already unsaddled, tended to, and put away.  I’ve guessed he fell over a ditch and my senses were knocked out of me.  After that I somehow managed to get him home, take care of him, and put him in the corral.

After I regained my senses all was okay after that, and I had a second chance at life.

~~~~

I received another second chance at life on the night in 1979 when I attended a Tupperware Party at a friend’s house.  I had a choice on that night of who I would accept a ride home with.  I could have ridden home with my straight sister-in-law, or with the party’s hostess, who liked to party like I did.

The choice I made, with the hostess, ended in the hospital after she lost control of her car and went into a lake.  I suffered a near-fatal Traumatic Brain Injury, the other passenger broke her neck, and the driver (party hostess) wasn’t hurt.

The doctors told my parents on that night that they didn’t expect me to make it through the night.  My family stayed by my side; I’m supposing they were in prayer.  My sisters stayed and talked to me while I was in my coma.

I don’t remember any of that, but what I do remember is Jesus.  No bright lights.  No trip to heaven.  No visualizations of others who passed before me.  He simply stood by my side until I woke.

I’ve reasoned my NDE happened like that because it wasn’t my time to leave this life, yet.  I needed rest so I could recover and he came to me so I would rest in complete calm until I woke.  I’m unable to explain the peace I experienced while He stood beside me.  I’m certain it was nothing like anyone living has ever experienced.

My parents had been told that if I did wake, I would have seizures; I’ve never had one.  And I have since raised a family, earned a BA at the University of Washington, and become a published author.  My life of partying as I knew it before is no more.

I had another second chance at life.

~~~~

Fast forward to the end of my marriage where I raised that family.  My daughter estranged herself from me at that time.  I’ve reasoned she did so because I immediately met someone else she didn’t like.  I grew to love this man during our relationship which lasted going on 13 years.

I was left heartbroken when he dropped the Breakup Bomb.  During my time of grief over the death of our relationship, I’ve recognized that this horrible time in my life just might be what needed to happen in order for me to regain the mother/daughter relationship I have craved.

I’ve been given a second chance for that.

~~~~

I’ve been a born again Christian since my coma and I attend weekly Bible Study and Sunday School classes.  One Sunday School class recently spoke to me. I don’t recall the verse or its content, or what our discussion centered on, but I do remember how I heard that with the end of my last relationship; I’d been given a second chance at making my life right with God.

I’d been given my fourth second chance.

As you look back, can you see all the second chances you’ve had?

About pjharjo

Janette is an author of Romantic Paranormal Fantasy. CONNECTIONS, her first series, is Indie published. You can follow her or sign up for her newsletter, and learn more about her new releases as they become available, at http://www.authorjanetteharjo.blogspot.com She lives in the beautiful and prolific Pacific NW of the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to SNOWFLAKES!

  1. jeff7salter says:

    How wonderful that you’ve been given these additional chapters to your life, after very serious events which could have ended it.
    Additionally gratifying that you recognize it and realize there is a divine purpose to it.
    Unfortunately, many folks who get “second chances” just chalk it up to fate or coincidence.
    I’ve had several near misses, but nothing on the magnitude of what you’ve been through.

    Like

  2. You have great insight that not many people get the opportunity to experience or, I think more often, open their eyes and heart to.
    I told you in the emails we have exchanged that I believe less and less in coincidence every day.Through the trials of my life I have gained a great deal of compassion,(which I needed to learn) and humility,(ditto). I can see pain in people’s pasts that have molded them, for good or for bad.Thank Heaven, you seem to have stayed or gotten n the right one.
    Those are a lot of “second” chances…I think you can count a bit higher on those! But I know what you mean, new chances. Let’s hope the dramatic ones are over for you now!

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      Thank you, Tonette. I hope my life lessons are over now, too! They’ve definitely made me stronger. I believe you’re right about my being “molded” in the right direction. My new group of friends in the Memoir Writers group I just posted about told me that I’m a loving person at our last meeting. I’ve thought of myself as a loving person. It’s nice to hear that verified from new people who haven’t known me that long. 🙂 I think I needed to learn humility.

      Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    What a powerful testimony, Janette. Thank you so much for sharing it with us. I’ve never had any experience that comes close to any of your stories. i guess i’m awfully lucky, and I’m very thankful for that.

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      Yes. You have been fortunate, Patricia. You’re right to appreciate the life you’ve been given. None of us are the people we are without our life experiences. Thank you for your thoughts on my “testimony.” 🙂

      Like

  4. Laurie Ryan says:

    What Patricia said. That’s a powerful story. And good for you, clawing your way back to find your new normal each time.

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      I’m a survivor, Laurie. That’s what survivor’s do. There have been times I’ve hated that He made me a survivor, but for God’s grace, I wouldn’t be where I am today. I suppose that’s why He made me a survivor. I still have a purpose to fulfill in this life. 🙂

      Like

  5. Reblogged this on in his presence 4evermore and commented:
    I absolutely agree with this blog – we get so many second or third or even forth chances…..to surrender to his will and receive the blessings that bear our names – our blessings never expire, but we need to let go of all controlling mechanisms and let God be in control….then slowly all things will fall into place, just like they could have already ages ago, before we made the choices that lead us astray from his will…..

    Absolutely love this blog!!!

    God bless you,

    Youschka 😘

    Like

  6. pjharjo says:

    Thank you for stopping by with your love and sharing my blog, Youschka! God Bless You! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

