Trying Something New in Writing

The greatest failure is the failure to try. William Ward – See more at: http://www.verybestquotes.com/try-something-new-quotes/#sthash.BMyD8z6w.dpuf

I’ve recently joined a local Memoir Writer’s group. It’s something I’ve thought of doing over the past few years, but didn’t quite know how to go about it. There were also a lot of other things on my plate, so I only entertained the thought.
It’s been both interesting and fun. The small group is composed of a half dozen women, and one “token” (LOL!) man. If you can believe it; the group’s organizer is like about 23 years old! She said so herself at our first meeting that most people wouldn’t be able to imagine someone so young having enough life experiences to be able to write a memoir.

We’ve only met twice to share articles so far, so I don’t have much to report on the organizer’s life experiences. I guess we’ll see. We critique each other’s articles, not for the story content (because each person’s story is her own), but to help tighten and make their memory easier to read and understand.

I didn’t realize it would be so time intensive when I joined, with the reading and putting our thoughts into the up to 5 pages each person submits, but we’ve begun to meet once a month instead of once every two weeks, and so I think it’ll work.

How many memoir writers do we have out there among you all? Is there anything you’ve “entertained,” but have never done?

About pjharjo

Janette is an author of Romantic Paranormal Fantasy. CONNECTIONS, her first series, is Indie published. You can follow her or sign up for her newsletter, and learn more about her new releases as they become available, at http://www.authorjanetteharjo.blogspot.com She lives in the beautiful and prolific Pacific NW of the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Trying Something New in Writing

  1. I have not so much as entertained an idea as procrastinated on it! I have a novel 2/3 written, I have a play adapted into a story IN MY HEAD, I have a children’s story that needs re-working and one that needs to be re-submitted.(It rhymes and the one editor of the magazine I offered it to ,I later found out, hates rhymes.They don’t print many rhyming stories.)
    Memoirs, well, I do a lot of that here and some in my other blog, since many have to do with food.Frankly,I had envisioned doing more storytelling in the other blog, however,it seems the instruction is what people want…other people have stories that work in theirs but …oh well!
    I considered doing a play regarding sections of my life, with enough changes and additions to disguise some of it.I find myself to be a little more closed-in than many and so much of my life involves others that I truly do not feel free enough to discuss them publicly.
    I know many people get a lot of insight from writing their memoirs. I am glad that you enjoy it.I imagine many who have TBI could benefit from your experiences.It took me a long time before I saw the benefit of any sort of support or ‘support group’, but I do.No one ever truly understands anything that anyone else goes through unless they, themselves, have faced it.
    I wish you luck with this.

    Like

  2. Laurie Ryan says:

    I probably won’t do a memoir, but I do keep a bit of a journal. I get busy and don’t write in it as much as I should, but I do add bullet points so I remember (or the kids can remember) what happened. Like you said, it’s a time drain, so it’s hard to make the time for it regularly. Best of luck in your new venture.

    Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    I’ve been journaling for the past 8 years. Prior to that, I guess my correspondence files wold be a good source of “memoir” material.
    Back in ’83 & ’85, I produced a slim volume of my own recollections… which I shared with my family members. And I’m glad I did it then, because I’ve since forgotten a lot of that detail. Wonderful to have it on paper so I can read and remember.

    Like

  4. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I used to keep a journal when I was young, but I gave that up long ago. For the past fifteen years I’ve been scrapbooking, so I suppose that’s a form of journaling, since along with my pictures I record the names and places and a little bit about the events depicted. As for something I’ve entertained but never taken action on, I suppose the biggest thing would be getting my PhD. I’m running out of time on that one, but I suppose it’s still possible!

    Like

Leave a Reply

