Books, books, and more books

This is a free week. Sorry that I am late posting this but I sort of ran into the problem that this feels like Tuesday and not Wednesday.

On my mind lately has been the campaign to #SaveOurBooks while I think the target of getting the President to show a love of books is a great one I do not think that is nearly enough. Our youth looks up to the celebrities, they mimic them. If they see them reading then that is what they will do. I have been sending out messages to different actors that I know are in movies that are big with kids and teens in the hopes that at least one will respond and then perhaps a domino effect will happen.

I know it is not some dreadful disease that needs immediate attention but when our children are running more towards illiterate that is when we need to step in and do something. I’ve worked in a school with 3rd grade children where OVER half the class was reading at a kindergarten level. I spent hours working with these kids (volunteering) with a new program that got them involved. I made reading a game for them, when they saw the first kid who reached grade level in reading get a little diploma I had made AND their favorite candy suddenly they all wanted more time to work on their reading.  I had third graders asking if it was alright with me if they stayed in during recess to read. They would ask me what books I read when I was younger. They would come in with a childrens version of a classic and I would tell the all the more detail they would find in the true book. Which made them want to be able to read that.

Now, if I can do that. I, who only gave of my time and these kids had NO clue who I was before I stepped in there then imagine what an actor or singer that these kids adore could do.

I am one of those people who gives books for gifts, I always make sure to tuck in a toy as well for the younger children but there is always a book there. I had someone turn their nose up once because I got their child a story book for a birthday but later was told that it had become part of a bedtime routine. The child loved listening to that book. Books are powerful and everyone needs to make sure that this is something not lost on the next generation. A generation who can simply listen to a book (I enjoy audio books as well, so I have nothing against them) instead of having to actually read the book themselves OR they watch the movie and figure that it just like the book. The books are always so much better!!

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Books, books, and more books

  1. jeff7salter says:

    I’ve always loved giving books as gifts also.
    For many years — at least 20 and likely 25 or more — the American Library Association has had a poster series (with supporting bookmarks and banners), which feature celebrities from entertainment, sports, etc. In each, it’s the person holding up a book they found meaningful.
    Just as you point out, kids who “worship” these individuals can gain a lot by seeing that these celebrities value reading.
    I can’t think of the exact name of the program, but it’s along the lines of Celebrities Read.
    You’ll find everybody. I think they even had one poster with the green frog from Sesame Street!

    Like

  2. That makes sense that they would be out of print. I was really hoping to see some good ones there. I figured we could at least use them for our home library. We do have some great posters that we picked up at a sale from the local library.

    Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    As a former elementary teacher, I have to applaud your efforts. I see that the NFL is partnering with the NEA for Read Across America. Go to http://www.nea.org/grants/read-across-america-partners-and-supporters.htm and scroll down to National Football League Players Association. Maybe they’ll let you get some of their pictures!

    Like

  4. I also give children books, often along with another present.I have been known to add one to new-baby gifts; you can’t start them on reading too early!
    I used to volunteer at the local elementary school with their reading program.There are quite a number of adults, often of retirement age, who come in to help the kids.Sometimes, its a busy working mom or dad who come in before their work shift or on their days off.
    You are doing a great service, Angie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

