little things

When looking back on this past year what is it that I will remember, what will stick so much in my memory that years and years later I shall recall it? I no longer write my end of the year letter to seal shut for me to read years later, though perhaps I may take up this habit again.

The moments that truly stand out are the ones that seem so tiny, so insignificant. The day that my youngest kissed me on the forehead and asked me to be his Valentine forever. Seeing my daughter shine on stage in a musical. Watching my middle child become such great friends with an older gentleman that this person has become very much like family. The squeal of joy that the carnival was in town. The laughter that echoed loudly as my little family bounced up and down singing out the word “snow” when the snow fell. Playing charades and having impromptu dance parties. Hearing a four year old in a very serious tone with hand held out asking “May I dance with you?” Watching the serious expression on a twelve year old’s face as he concentrates while drawing then seeing a beautiful copy that he created in mere minutes when all I would have been able to do was draw a squiggle. Hearing my daughter sing in the church choir for the first time.

There were big things like my son’s surgery. A custody hearing. My brother getting married to a wonderful woman who makes him happier than I have ever seen him, happier than I ever knew he could be. Seeing how big my cripple pup has gotten and knowing that he cannot live with us because of the steps he would have to climb. Having two books published. Joining Four Foxes One Hound. Deciding to home school my high school child.

This has been a full year, the little things though are the ones that seem to mean the most when looking back, when my kids announced that I get a birthday week instead of a day. That may seem silly to some but it was special to me. Each day was something they knew I would enjoy, it was there way of showing me that they love me.

It seems that each year gets better than the one before it. So here is hoping that next year is filled with more amazing memories. Stay safe this New Year’s Eve and Happy New Year!

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to little things

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Lovely column, beautifully written.
    These are, indeed, very special memories.
    I’ve never written any “letters” to myself to seal and save for later, but I have written down 2 volumes of recollections of my early life. Very glad I did, because I no longer remember some fo those situations, except in the broadest outline. The fact that I wrote them (in ’83 & ’85) when my memory was still quite sharp, means I can continue to possess details I would otherwise have left way behind.

    Like

    • Jeff, I think that is great that you wrote those. I’ve been trying to get my parents to write about their younger years they have such interesting stories.

      I am currently working on a project for my children. Sort of like a diary that I fill with memories and stuff like that. I figure this way when they move away they have that, also their children will be able to read it and so on.
      Also I plan to write something for my daughter advice from a mother to her. That way she will have it since she is looking to go to college some 14 hours away.

      The letter I wrote the year I graduated had to have been twenty pages. I have not read it yet. I’m thinking in 2019 I may open it since that will be 20 years after I wrote it.

      Like

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Great memories! I agree, those little moments are special, and you have a treasure chest full of them. And now that you’ve written this post you have a way to retrieve them and enjoy them later on. Here’s a toast to 2014!

    Like

Leave a Reply

