Rattling In the New Year

I hope the beginning of 29015 finds all of you well and up-lifted, ready to take on the year!
When reflecting on the past year, I remember the inordinate number of people in my life that I lost. Many were ready; some went well before their time, or it would seem. Only God knows our time.

Those who were ready were failing and were spared falling farther, yet I also had one elderly friend make a miraculous recovery from a near-fatal car accident. She is just as bright and chipper as always, although getting around is slightly harder than it had been before the accident,( she is over 80, quite arthritic and had recently battled cancer).But she is doing so well, she is taking classes! She is a real inspiration.

This year I went to a family wedding; something I rarely get to do. In this case, I had not met the bride,(or groom), in person, nor her siblings, nor even her father, who had been married into the family for about 35 years. (Thank Heaven for flat-rate phone bills and Facebook!) The father-of-the-bride is a some-time writer and I had him here for an interview a couple of years ago. The groom and his family were also a delight to meet. I’m glad they joined the extended family.

I saw another cousin there that I call regularly, and his wife. I had not seen them since right after they were married 1966, when I was 12. And from Connecticut came cousin who I often call, but we had not seen each other since she was 14…and I was 4.

This year found my health changing…again. I had been very fortunate that the several potentially serious ailments that have complicated my life were fairly well-behaved for me, however, a couple of new ones popped up. Yet, with a new doctor who actually listens and won’t let my symptoms go by the wayside, I now rattle when I walk from the amount of pills and capsules I swallow a day…but they work. With a new diet and medications, I feel better than I have in quite a while. It has also done a lot for my out-look on life.

The fact that some of my problem necessitate a change of life-style is also good for not only myself, but for my husband, as well. We were keepers, sliding into packratdom. Letting go and trusting is new for us both, but it is truly freeing.

As for the family:

#2 Son is on a good track with his future, doing great in grad school and with jobs pertaining to his field.

#1 Son, who is pleased to be back in First Responder work,(firefighting and EMT), is now happy in his future and has just gotten engaged.(Yes; I like her.)

All the grandkids are healthy, growing tall and growing in within themselves. They all have good senses of humor, which is important in life.

What do I expect of the New Year? I don’t know. Very few plans or hopes I have had work the way I expect them to. I can only hope that we find lightness of heart, ease for,(and from), troubled-souls, and be ready for whatever life throws our way.

I wish all of you a good 2015.

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in blessings, blogging, Life, Random thoughts, Tonette Joyce, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rattling In the New Year

  1. jeff7salter says:

    sorry you have to cope with so many health issues.
    Thank goodness you have a better doctor now who actually listens. Also glad to hear the meds you take are actually working.
    It’s hard to keep up with extended family. FB has also helped me a lot in that regard.

    Like

    • Improvement in communications have done so much for me, Jeff.I know the art of letter-writing is falling by the wayside and that future generations will have no idea of what we were really like, but …
      Thank you for all of your support, all the time,Jeff.

      Like

  2. I’m glad that you have a good doctor now.
    It must have been so nice to see/meet family.

    I hope this year is filled with much happiness for you.

    Like

  3. So glad you found a doctor who listens … it makes such a difference! Wishing you (better) health and happiness for 2015 🙂

    Like

  4. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Sounds like your life is on an uphill swing! Sympathetic doctor, sons doing well, and connections with family. Here’s to a wonderful 2015.

    Like

Leave a Reply

