Aspirations? Memories??

First of all I’d like to say I have Absolutely No Idea why my Valentine’s post appeared a Week Late!  User Error?  Naw, couldn’t’ be.  😉

Career Aspirations when I was young(er), huh?  Another stretch of the memory.  I think at the bottom of everything all through my growing up I wanted to be a mommy.  But since this is supposed to be PG, I’ll not talk about practice.  😉

On the side; I’m sure I wanted to be many other things, too.  As a horse-crazy girl I wanted to own a horse ranch and ride race horses.  Life managed to mess up my chances of marrying a cowboy/rancher or doing so on my own, and, well, I outgrew the chances of ever being a jockey.  LOL!  Not that I am large, but those riders are SMALL.

Showing Sweetheart

I probably wanted to be an actress at one time.  I once starred in a high-school production of Up The Down Staircase.  That’s about as far as that aspiration went.  I would have liked to have been a professional singer, too.  I know I have a beautiful voice because I’ve been told that many times.  I sang in my school choirs.  The furthest my singing aspiration’s gone is I now sing in my church choir where I am the lead soprano.

I guess I’ve always had a performance vein in me because along with my non-professional play acting and singing; I was a Professional Belly Dancer back in the day. Belly Dancing with Bo 5Belly Dancing 5

And now I’m an author even though I never aspired to write.  Taking pen to paper, um, fingers to keyboard (LOL!)  was probably one of the farthest things from my mind.  I wasn’t even an avid reader.  The aspiration to write came to me while on the recovery from my brain injury.  (I did begin with pencil to paper, though, before I got my first computer back in the DOS days.)

As you all probably know; depression follows a traumatic injury.  I dealt with it for a number of years until it became too heavy for my soul to bear and my relations to weather.  I reached such a low point of unhappiness I prayed one night for happiness.

The next day I received the inspiration to write a story.  When I realized writing made me happy, I knew my prayer had been answered.  🙂  Years went by before I was published, but I didn’t give up because I knew God’s plan was that I would be published.  I mean, after all, He’d told me I’m a writer.

I’ve been published since May of 2013.  I now have a three book romantic fantasy series out involving soul-searching time travel amidst supernatural wizardry, and I have others on my cyber-shelves waiting to be published.

I did get to be a mommy…

About pjharjo

Janette is an author of Romantic Paranormal Fantasy. CONNECTIONS, her first series, is Indie published. You can follow her or sign up for her newsletter, and learn more about her new releases as they become available, at http://www.authorjanetteharjo.blogspot.com She lives in the beautiful and prolific Pacific NW of the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Aspirations? Memories??

  1. jeff7salter says:

    horse rancher, singer, actress, and mommy — all noble aspirations.
    Kinda surprises me that writing was never in your inventory until after that horrible accident.
    As for the mommy aspiration, I had a colleague where I used to work who had 7 or 8 kids and told me several times that all she’d ever wanted to be was a mommy. She said she would’ve had even more children if she could’ve.

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      Thank you, Jeff. 🙂 I believe writing came after my injury is because the creative side of my mind hadn’t been awakened yet, which is what the injury did for me. You know – when one side of the brain is injured, the other takes over? I can relate to what your colleague told you. I only had 3, which was enough, but motherhood made me so happy. 🙂

      Like

      • jeff7salter says:

        even setting aside all the biological blocks, there’s no way I could be a mother. It seems to me that Moms have to practically give up everything — I’m too selfish.

        Like

  2. I don’t know that many people reach their earliest aspirations and frankly, I think it’s just as well in many cases! I am sure you have done wonderfully in the ‘mommy’ department. Finding what makes you happy later in life is wonderful.

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      I’m my own worst critic in the ‘mommy’ department, just as I am in my writing. I’m so proud of my children’s accomplishments and have been told that I had something to do with it, even though I sometimes wonder… Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I found your Valentine post in the drafts and it looked like it was done, so I hit Publish. Sounds like you’ve had some fun experiences! The only time I’ve ever ridden a horse was when I went to Camp Fire Girl camp and we followed the leader down a trail. Belly dancing sounds like fun, too. And I’m glad you got to be a mommy. It’s very rewarding, even though it’s often tough.

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      So that where my Valentine’s post came from! Thanks for correcting my user error! I talk about how I envy others, but I guess I have had some fun in my lifetime. I must’ve had too much fun the night of my injury. LOL!

      I also had to LOL why you said parenting is “often tough.” I can remember the day my oldest son went skiing and called before he came home to tell me a tree stepped out in front of him. Forewarning?? LOL!

      Like

Leave a Reply

