Leave My Clocks Alone

Daylight savings is a HUGE pain! I do not care for it, I never have. Not even when I was younger. I do not understand how anyone thinks you have an extra hour of daylight now. That is not true, all you did was make us change our clocks. The amount of sun in the day has not changed, the only thing that changed is what hours we see that sunlight.

I do not find myself being more productive. I do however find myself annoyed with the fact that when I should be sleeping I need to be up making breakfast. When my kids would normally begin getting ready for bed it is now their bedtime. I don’t like the change. There is no need for there to be a change.

From what I understand DST was enacted to save energy by cutting back on the use of electric lights. This no longer applies in today’s society so perhaps it is time to get rid of it. People stay up late and use up way more electricity on other things than lights no matter what time of day it is so moving the clocks forward an hour is not going to help with the original purpose.

I’ll leave you with this picture that sums it all up.

65502_10152636470305191_1070805731_n

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Leave My Clocks Alone

  1. Jeanne says:

    My sentiments exactly! DST is such a pain. At least the only clocks that have to be changed manually are the ones on the microwave and in the car. Computers and phones update automatically. But I have always hated it, too, and we have to change our clocks BACK one hour on 5 April. The only thing I DO like about it is that during the autumn/winter months here now, there is only 14 hours difference between me and my friends/family in Michigan rather than 16. But since we change the clocks at different times, there are a few weeks twice each year where the time difference is 15 hours, because we’re either both on or both off of DST. This is what the normal time difference would be if they would just leave the clocks alone, which is what I keep saying I wish they would do every time.

    By the way, I heard somewhere that the person who originally came up with this idea was Benjamin Franklin. The man had a lot of good ideas, but this was definitely not one of them!

    Like

    • I heard that Benjamin Franklin did suggest it in Paris. I think that is why he gets credit for it. I have also heard it goes back to ancient civilizations. I think I will do a bit of research on this.
      It has to be even harder when it makes a time difference even greater between family and friends.

      Like

  2. pjharjo says:

    Your picture does sum it all up. We indigenous folk have always had our act together than those white skins who annihilated us! (Don’t get me started) 🙂 that aside – I always thought the DST was to give the greedy employer more daylight hours to work his employees by. But what do I know, eh? 😉

    Like

    • Whoa,Janette.That’s a bit overboard.

      Like

    • It has nothing to do with employers. I know several people who work 3rd shift and they work that extra hour on the day time changes BUT they also lose an hour on the day that clocks go back. It only affects them pay and time wise on those 2 days a year.
      As for “white skins” I’ve never heard anyone actually use that term in modern days. My grandma and dad are (well grandma has passed) Native American and neither of them would ever say something like that or even imply it.

      Like

      • pjharjo says:

        Okay, Angela. 🙂 No harm intended. I’ve just come to use the WS term bc it’s used so much by the Modoc in the book I’m researching for a current WIP. I also don’t use NA as the name for indigenous folks. They were here before this became America, so they/we are indigenous, not NA. (Something brought to my attention by one of my professors when I was at University.)

        Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I admit, losing an hour of sleep was a little bit of an annoyance when I worked full time and had kids at home, but after a few days we usually had things smoothed out. I guess I had other things that bothered me more, so I didn’t really think about it. It is what it is, and complaining isn’t going to change it, so I just accept it.

    Like

    • It takes my kids a month at least to adjust. It is harder on my middle child who has a hard time falling asleep and everything anyway.They will get used to it in a few weeks. It really messes with the bedtime routines, I don’t care for that.

      Like

  4. My mother always thought it was another money-ploy by sports teams, sports equipment and backyard barbeque makers!

    Like

    • I’ve never heard of it being a money ploy. When I was younger (could be because we live in a farming community) we were told that it was designed so there was more light during growing season.

      Like

  5. jeff7salter says:

    I agree, Angie. People in current society keep their own hours and operate whatever energy-using equipment at all hours. In fact, most programming and much merchandising is currently based on a 24/7 cycle anyhow.
    Leave the clocks alone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

