Guest Kim Marcum

By Jeff Salter

This week we’re collecting readers’ perspectives to learn what kinds of things they like in romance books… and what they want to see more of.

My Guest Interviewee

Please welcome Kim Marcum as my Guest Fox for Hound Day. She’s an avid reader and very supportive of me and other local authors. Members of Kim’s family are published authors or aspiring writers and Kim herself has written down many interesting story premises and scene openers. I’m hoping to see Kim fully develop some of those and come back to 4F1H as a guest author.

aaa-kim-marcum

Interview Questions

I borrowed several of these questions from my 4F1H colleague, Patricia Kiyono.

What genre do you usually read for pleasure?

Kim: Most of what I read is fiction. I enjoy romance the best but I also like stories with some “unnatural or supernatural” elements. For example, in Jeff ‘s “The Ghostess and Mister Muir” — I absolutely loved the interaction between the live characters and the ghostess.

Other than your friends asking you, what would make you pick up and read a romance?

Kim: I keep track of what my friends are reading, and I belong to several Facebook groups that focus on authors. Their recommendations have led me to some great reads!

What kind of characters appeal to you?

Kim: I love characters that have real life problems to overcome. Strong and genuine leading men who are not afraid to show their “soft” side. Strong and independent women who are not afraid to go after what they want all while still staying in control of their lives.

What do you dislike in a character?

Kim: There always needs to be the third wheel character, the one who causes some turmoil for the main characters, be it from jealousy or just because that is their nature.

Do you get bored with the “happily ever after” of traditional romances?

Kim: Not if there was adversity to overcome to get to the happily ever after. Even Cinderella had to overcome a lot of heartache before she got her prince.

What advice would you give romance authors?

Kim: I love it when the author describes in detail the surroundings, I want to feel like I am seeing exactly what is in the room that the characters are seeing. I want to feel what the characters are feeling, hear what they are hearing. I love details like the “creaking floor” as they are walking on it, the “cool, moist gust of air” that out of nowhere rushes across the nape of the neck! Don’t be afraid to give the readers enough detail so they feel like they are IN the situation with the characters.

Approximately how many books do you read each year?

Kim: Before 2014 it was very few. Now that I have met some great authors (JL Salter, CK Gray) and have befriended many others through social media (Wendy Knight being top on my list), I have already read one book a week for the year 2015. That may not sound like much but with being a full time (disabled) mom & wife, to read one a week is a great accomplishment! I intend to read as much as possible from the many authors I currently read plus add more new author friends this year!

What kinds of writing are you doing now… or do you want to do in the future?

Kim: I get random thoughts & type them up but [so far] I never get past that thought.

Thanks, Kim, for helping me out this Hound Day… and with pretty short notice!

Questions

Do y’all agree / disagree with Kim’s views? What would some of your answers be to any one of these questions?

About jeff7salter

Currently writing romantic comedy, screwball comedy, and romantic suspense. Twelve completed novels and five completed novellas. Working with three royalty publishers: Clean Reads, Dingbat Publishing, & TouchPoint Press/Romance. "Size Matters" -- Oct. 2016 "The Duchess of Earl" -- Jul. 2016 "Stuck on Cloud Eight" -- Nov. 2015, "Pleased to Meet Me" (novella) -- Oct. 2015, "One Simple Favor" (novella) -- May 2015, "The Ghostess & MISTER Muir" -- Oct. 2014, "Scratching the Seven-Month Itch" -- Sept. 2014, "Hid Wounded Reb" -- Aug. 2014, "Don't Bet On It" (novella) -- April 2014, "Curing the Uncommon Man-Cold -- Dec. 2013, "Echo Taps" (novella) -- June 2013, "Called To Arms Again" -- (a tribute to the greatest generation) -- May 2013, "Rescued By That New Guy in Town" -- Oct. 2012, "The Overnighter's Secrets" -- May 2012. Co-authored two non-fiction books about librarianship (with a royalty publisher), a chapter in another book, and an article in a specialty encyclopedia. Plus several library-related articles and reviews. Also published some 120 poems, about 150 bylined newspaper articles, and some 100 bylined photos. Worked about 30 years in librarianship. Formerly newspaper editor and photo-journalist. Decorated veteran of U.S. Air Force (including a remote ‘tour’ of duty in the Arctic … at Thule AB in N.W. Greenland). Married; father of two; grandfather of six.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Guest Kim Marcum

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts, Kim! You’re so right about Cinderella – she had a lot of adversity to overcome, and it wasn’t just Prince Charming who rescued her! If your reading pile ever needs replenishing, just let me know – I’ll be glad to contribute.

    Like

  2. jeff7salter says:

    Welcome to Hound Day, Kim. Thanks for helping me out this week.
    Folks, I’ve read several of Kim’s story premises and scene openers and she’s GOT writing talent. Just needs time & focus to take them on down the process.

    Like

  3. jbrayweber says:

    Nice to “meet” you Kim. I love hearing thoughts from readers, so thank you for sharing yours.
    I’m also happy to know that readers like strong heroines. That’s what kind of gals I like to write about. 🙂

    Wonderful Q&A!

    Like

  4. Welcome to the blog, Kim! Any friend of Jeff’s has the door open.
    I know that some find HEAs boring,but that can only be from poor storyline or style. A good HEA, a well-written and plausible HEA , can make anyone feel good.
    I wish you all the best.

    Like

    • Kim Marcum says:

      Thank you so much for the encouraging comment Tonette!!! I’m so glad to have met Jeff and opened up this wonderful world in my life!!!

      Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      Thanks, Tonette, for welcoming one of my local friends.
      Of the stories I’ve written so far, I don’t know if any of my endings could be characterized as HEA. I guess they’d more accurately be described as HFN.

      Like

Leave a Reply

