Opening night

There are several things that I regret. Things that I should have done differently. I would have done better in school. I would not have gotten into so much trouble. I would have studied more.

Opening night of the play M*A*S*H  I would have made certain that my hand was off the desk before Hawkeye ( a kid named Jon) jumped onto the desk. He landed on my finger and while I was hiding under the desk until the end of the scene I let a few cuss words fly. I thought I had said them quietly, my hand was throbbing. When the play was over my little brother and parents came backstage. My brother was laughing at me because he heard me from under the desk. They were sitting three rows from the stage. I was so embarrassed. Luckily my finger was not broken.

I did get to do the play again the next night and I was careful to move my hand before he was to jump. I also got to go with a large group from the drama department to a thespian festival where I had to memorize someone’s part before we got there because she could not make it. That was fun, it was a long four hour bus ride with a lot of reading and running through lines but I figure if opening night had been as bad as I thought it was then the drama coach would not have had me take over this part for the event out of town.

Is there something you would have done differently?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Opening night

  1. Jeanne says:

    I don’t remember too many female characters in M*A*S*H, so were you Margaret ‘Hot Lips’ Houlihan?

    There are PLENTY of things I regret doing, most of which I would really rather not talk about here. Speaking of embarrassing moments, however, I was sitting in church on a Wednesday night one time. There was a guest speaker, and I was sitting with the pastor and his wife, when my shoulder popped out of the socket (it does that sometimes, and it hurts like the dickens!) Before I could think, the first thing that came out of my mouth was ‘Oh s**t!’ Luckily, the pastor was more concerned about what had happened than what I had said.

    Some of this things I regret NOT doing, however, include seeing more of the Western United States, like Montana, Wyoming, Utah, and parts of California and Washington. I DID get to see the Grand Canyon once, but I really wanted to go to that part where they have the giant glass walkway over the canyon. I would have loved to travel along Route 66 farther than I did, too. I seriously doubt that I’ll ever be able to travel back to the States again, though, so hope I can see more of Australia!

    Like

    • I played a psychiatrist that they sent Hawkeye to see. I did not want to play Hot Lips and told the director I didn’t want that part. I liked working on the sets and costumes more than I did acting.
      Oh my, that would have been horrible to have said that in front of a pastor.
      Traveling would be nice. I hope you can see as much of Australia as you can.

      Like

      • Jeanne says:

        Luckily I had a very understanding pastor then. He moved to New Mexico just after I moved about 30 miles from that town, but I stopped to visit him and even spent the night with him and his wife while I was driving from East Texas to Las Vegas for a convention. He also performed the ceremony when my husband and I got married. Total time from when we went to the court house to get the marriage license to the time we returned the signed document and got the certificate after the ceremony at his church was about an hour and a half! (Of course, a friend of mine from the Air Force who lives in Vegas wasn’t happy that we hadn’t gone there, but I didn’t feel like driving that far AGAIN.) We still keep in touch through FB, too.

        I was in the chorus of a few musicals that our local community theatre put on in Nacogdoches, and also a couple that the church I used to attend here did, so yeah, acting is fun.I actually had about four roles in Oliver! because we had a very small cast. They were just bit parts, but I enjoyed it!

        Travelling is a problem right now, not just because of money, but my husband has had some serious health issues lately, and travelling is just too hard on him. We did spend a week in Tasmania a year after I got here, and then went to visit his twin sister in New South Wales a few years ago, so we have managed to go to a few different places. We took our car on the ferry to Tassie, but I learned on the drive to see his sister that I can’t handle driving for long periods of time like I used to. That was about a 14-16 hour drive and it was very hard on both of us, whereas just ten years ago I drove all the way from Texas to Virginia and back by myself! I used to love to drive, but now I hate it. It’s just too tiring. Did have to slow down on the way back from NSW when a big kangaroo hopped across the road right in front of us while I was driving, though! I remember when I was driving home from church one Sunday in Nacogdoches, I saw two deer standing on the side of the road I was about to turn on; a buck and a doe, so I made the turn very slowly, and sure enough, they both ran across the road just then. One went in front of the car, and the other behind!

        Like

  2. I am so embarrassed for the teenager you were,but I have to admit, from this distance in time, it’s funny! I’m glad you weren’t seriously injured, but a broken finger might have gotten you more sympathy. You were fortunate to have an understanding teacher and principal.
    Regrets…we”ll see how what I come up with for Friday.

    Like

    • I was lucky that either the director did not care or did not know. Looking back it is funny, my kids heard the story when my oldest auditioned for the musical a few years back.
      I look forward to your post.

      Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    Quite a trouper to keep going with the scene while a colleague is standing on your finger!
    And also I commend your willingness to jump in for that role when the other actor couldn’t come through. That would’ve been nerve-wracking for me.

    Like

  4. Patricia Kiyono says:

    As a musician, my theatrical mistakes took place in the pit rather than on the stage. And since I’m a woodwind player I often have to play a few different instruments. More than once I’ve started playing – and then realized I had the wrong instrument! I can’t imagine going through a performance with a broken finger, though. You really took the words “the show must go on” literally!

    Like

Leave a Reply

