Happy and Not So Happy

Here I am (late again).  “/ This is not a good subject for me to blog about, but I will.

I prefer Happily Ever After endings, but don’t believe they exist for most of us in real life; it’s mostly fictitious.  That could be one of the reasons I write romantic fiction – I do believe in Happy Ever After’s in fiction.

If a book doesn’t have an HEA, I probably won’t read the author again.  That happened once with an excellent romance I read (until it ended).  That’s why I am so much happier with the second edition of my CONNECTIONS Trilogy.

Whereas it began with my former publisher as one book, with the endings of the first 2 not so happy, and the HEA where it belonged – The 2nd edition has rewritten endings, so it can stand as the 3 romantic books it is now.  🙂

How about you?  Will you read an author again who doesn’t provide the required HEA in romance?

About pjharjo

Janette is an author of Romantic Paranormal Fantasy. CONNECTIONS, her first series, is Indie published. You can follow her or sign up for her newsletter, and learn more about her new releases as they become available, at http://www.authorjanetteharjo.blogspot.com She lives in the beautiful and prolific Pacific NW of the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Happy and Not So Happy

  1. I too love happily ever after endings, I feel so betrayed when things don’t work out the way I want them to!

    Like

  2. jeff7salter says:

    While I believe fiction reflects life, it also gives us an alternate SENSE how things could or should be. So, I enjoy writing HFN and I also like reading it.
    To me it’s not as much a matter of “DID it happen” as it is a matter of “COULD it happen”?

    Like

  3. It seems that most people who read romance and any ‘cozy’ genre are looking for a ‘feel-good’ book to lighten their own load, and it helps.

    Like

  4. pjharjo says:

    You’re right, Tonette. 🙂 Thanks! 😉

    Like

  5. mikeakin1 says:

    I really expect the ending to be one that will best fit tho overall tone of the story. HEA endings are overrated in my opinion. What fits, fits. 🙂

    Like

  6. Laurie Ryan says:

    I prefer happy endings, but have read some very evocative stories without those HEA’s.

    Like

Leave a Reply

