endings

I hear people say all the time that happily ever after does not happen in real life. I am here to tell you that it does. It may not look like in the fairy tales with a castle and all of a sudden have no worries but it does happen. My parents are the best example of this I have ever seen. Because of my parents AND my love of books I have always been partial to happy endings.

When I was in high school I used to read series with my best friend. Her parents bought her the books and we shared them. The series always had about 4 or 5 five books to them and they were sort of tragic. A lot of heartbreak and tragedy happened along the way before you got to the final book where there was usually some happiness. I enjoyed those books at the time but now I do not. It seems awful to try so hard to reach a happy ending only to get a little bit closer than you were before.

I like to read where the person falls in love and finds happiness. I think a lot of people do. I do not like where all their problems magically go away because they are n love.

The answer to the question is yes I like happy endings, even happy for now endings. I no longer care for tragic endings though I did when I was younger. Which do you prefer?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to endings

  1. duffybrown says:

    Got to have the happy ending…that’s why I read/write cozies. IMO killing off the main character is the chicken’s way out, it means the author can’t think of anything else. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Generally I prefer happy endings, Angie. I think we all want a little peace and hope in this world today.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pjharjo says:

    I prefer the HEA at the end. 🙂 Enjoyed your blog, Angela! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jeff7salter says:

    I went through a “dark” phase in my life, as a much younger man, when I did find some sort of closure in those bleak, “realistic” endings.
    But now, I’ve seen enough of real-life bleakness and don’t want to spend my available reading (or viewing) time with stories that end in tragedy.

    Like

  5. Ann Kilter says:

    If I happen to enjoy a trahic story, it should have a life lesson.

    Like

Leave a Reply

