“Unhappy, Darling?”

This week we are discussing whether we prefer happily-ever-after, (HEA), or happy-for-now, (HFN), endings to stories. Tragic endings were not offered as an option, but all of us touched on that type of ending.

[If you don’t recognized the title, it is a line from the movie “The Addams Family”. Gomez asked it of Morticia, who breathlessly smiled,“Oh, yes, completely!”]

After studying the readership of ‘romance’ novels some years ago, the researchers were astonished; they had assumed that they would find the majority of the readers were single women who were semi-reclusive who had little social life and non-existent love-lives, or unhappily married middle-aged women. They expected to find women who were under-employed or subservient in their workplace. What they found were women who were in every walk of life, whether married,( even quite happily), or dating, (even wildly), and at every social, professional and economic level. And they found a surprising number of men in the same situations as well, all reading romances.

For generations men were the leaders in literature and women used fictitious male names to be published. In the world of romance writers, for years many male writers used female pen names. Fortunately, we have moved beyond that. Case in point, our Hound, Jeff Salter.

I personally know no less than five practicing and former female lawyers who write romance. Most have said that they see/have seen so much unhappiness in their work that they want to give HEAs to their creations, and fortunately, to us all.
I think most people prefer happy endings. Through the week the other Foxes and the Hound brought up sad-ending stories and there is something to be said for a “good” tragedy.
I had a boss who complained about unrealistically happy endings and pointed out that he hated the movie, “Sommersby”. When I told him that it was based on the great, but heart-wrenching, “The Return of Martin Guerre”, he asked to borrow my copy of the movie. He wanted to see more substance and what he considered to be a realistic ending. (That movie isn’t for the faint of heart, trust me.)

We went through a siege of unhappy movie and book endings in the 1980s.(The 1970’s had many novels/stories/movies with no actual endings. It was annoying, but I digress.) I hope they are mostly gone.

I generally prefer happy endings and hope for the future. What we did not have in our topics is ‘Bittersweet’ endings, endings that are hopeful and/or redemptive after much loss or suffering. I just read such a book, and it will stay with me. (Rachel Joyce’s “Prefect” There is some happiness and much hope, after a roller-caster of unfortunate events. Perhaps that is the most ‘realistic’ we can expect in a book or story. Since life is far from perfect, a bittersweet ending, a hard-earned or long over-due bit of happiness and hope, might satisfy those who find it hard to relate to the sweetness of HEAs. I think hope is what most of us look for in a romance which is why my WIP will have HEAs for more characters than my protagonist and hope for more to come for others.

What about your thoughts? Do you think bittersweet endings help after tragedies in a storyline? Do they become HEAs or HFNs, or do you find yourself dwelling on what was lost or endured?

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in authors, Books, inspiration, movies, protagonists, Random thoughts, reading preferences, romance, Tonette Joyce, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Unhappy, Darling?”

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Thanks for the mention.
    BTW, since that brief part of your column dealt with pseudonyms, let me reveal that I had — for a long time — assumed if I ever got published in the broader romance field, I’d use the author name Leigh S. Geoffrey [which is a variation of my actual name, Jeffrey Lee Salter] because I feared romance readers wouldn’t take a male author seriously. In a three-way email among my first publisher and their top editor and me, we jointly decided to let my author name be J.L. Salter instead.
    Re: the movie Somerset — I’ve only seen it once, way back when it was still relatively new, and I recall thinking through the whole film, absent any major deformities (from battle injuries), could anyone really look so completely different than what EVERYONE in family & town remembered… and yet they (mostly) accept that it’s him?

    Like

    • jeff7salter says:

      Uh oh, my bad. The film I was thinking about was called Sommersby, not Somerset. Sorry.

      Like

      • I must have had you on my mind and screwed up the title, Jeff;I’ll edit it.I WAS “Sommersby”! The original film was placed in the 16th Century. The resemblance was striking between the two men and war/fatigue/hunger/trauma/injuries changes people.
        Not everyone was convinced it was him; it was mostly wishful thinking. With incredible resemblances I have encountered,(including being mistaken for my sister and the woman who I blogged about ,[“Mistaken Identity”, Aug 15, 2014 Archives]), I am always amazed the people can identify others in a police line-up or Heavens, how DID they ever make sure the got the right person from a drawn ‘wanted poster’ in the past?

        Like

Leave a Reply

