On the Screen…

When thinking about this week’s topic I got to thinking about books I read when I was younger or that my children have read that I would like to see made into a movie.

The Five Little Peppers and How They Grew. I adored those books when I was younger, especially the first book. I gave my daughter a copy when she was ten. She enjoyed it as well. I always thought that it deserved to be turned into a movie so that other people could enjoy it as much as I did. It seems that more people watch movie than read. I figured if they watched a movie based on this book then they might decide to read the book.

I know that Little House on the Prairie was a wonderful series, I think Disney tried their hand at a mini-series some years back but it was not right. If I remember correctly in the mini-series (which I did not watch all of it) Laura was blonde! Anyone who has read the books knows she is not blonde, that is her sister Mary. I read those books so often that they fell apart and I had to get new copies. Then those fell apart so I bought new ones again. I have read them aloud to my children. I think someone who has read the books many times and loves them should turn them into a movie or series where it follows closely to the books. I adored the series on tv. I used to watch it in re-runs when I was home from school sick. But so much of that was added on for viewing ratings and more drama. I think the books are filled with plenty of stuff to keep people interested without adding in several more children.

Now more recent books I have read. Warrior Beautiful and the Fate on Fire series both by Wendy Knight. I would really enjoy these as movies. They were wonderfully well written books and I have read them more than once. My daughter (she’s a freshman in high school) also wants these books turned into movies.

I would also like to see JL Salter’s Hid Wounded Reb turned into a movie. I thought that was wonderfully written and it has a few mysteries in it which were fun to try to figure out while reading. I think it would be great to see how it plays out on the screen.

What are some books you read when you were younger that you wish had been turned into a movie? Have you read any recent books that you think should make it to the screen?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On the Screen…

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Gosh, I’m honored to see my novel included in your list. Thanks, Angie. That novel also means a lot to me because the two real-life incidents (though minor-ly fictionalized for my book) — one which directly involved my wife’s ancestors and the other which occurred at their church, probably while they were there. Both occurred within walking distance of our current house on the ancestral farm.

    When the “Prairie” series first started, I watched it and enjoyed it. As the seasons went on, I lost interest. I’ve heard people say it veered considerably from the original books and I would also like to see a “true” movie made of the first few books.

    Like

    • Knowing that some of the events were based off true events that happened near where you live was a reason I had bumped that book to the top of my tbr list. I enjoyed the book so much. I think it would be a wonderful movie. Maybe someday someone will listen to me and get to work on that. 😉

      The Prairie series really did veer off course. It is an enjoyable series but not even close to the books.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I remember The Five Little Peppers in my house,but I don’t recall reading it, which is weird! I have yet to get to Hid Wounded Rebel, but it’s on my Kindle.

    Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I taught elementary classrooms, so the Five Little Peppers was a staple! I read the Little House series when I was young and bought them for my daughters. The series was nice, but as you say it added a lot more characters than the books had. I don’t read much fantasy, but I do enjoy a good mystery so I’ve got Hid Wounded Reb downloaded and ready to read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

