working until 3am

How does my schedule change in the summer? Oh my goodness I am so much more forgetful in the summer than the rest of the year. All three of my children are home in the summer and often my nephew is here as well. I tend to work at night after my kids go to sleep in the summer months so I can spend more time with them. You would think that with not having to stick to a school schedule that things would be more relaxed but this is not the case here.

There are more activities that come up in the warmer months so things get tossed aside to go to something. I try not to set up a schedule during this time of year. We have the watermelon festival, the carnival, two parades, two block parties, VBS, and birthdays over the next few months. Add in sleepovers and other fun summer activities and it tends to be a busy time of year.

The biggest change in schedule for me right now is work. Like I said I will shove off work until my kids go to sleep. So instead of working during the day I will be working until 2 or 3 in the morning. I don’t mind the lack of sleep for a few months since it means more time to do things that the kids will enjoy. I try to get writing in on days when it is too hot to go out or when it is storming.

How does your schedule change in the hotter months?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to working until 3am

  1. jeff7salter says:

    sounds like you have many sacrifices in your summer schedule… but also sounds like you view them in the most positive light. That’s wonderful. I’m afraid I would think of them as intrusions.
    When my own kids were smaller, I worked full time out of the home, so my summer day was not much different than during the school semesters.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

