A GOOD Villain?

th

                                                                         star wars

angry parents

This week’s topic could be read in 2 different ways.  While what makes a “good” villain could imply the villain is actually “good” and not a bad person – it could also mean (which I believe today’s topic for all intents and purposes does imply) what makes a really, really, bad villain.

Okay; I’ll admit I’ve been thinking too hard on this, which is something I do regularly.

From my view-point (which would be romantically speaking) I suppose anyone who is truly detrimental to a couple’s success in their relationship is a good villain.  It could be anywhere from the far fantasy side, such as the evil medieval wizard in my CONNECTIONS series, to something from the “normal” world, such as the disapproval of a meddling parent.

If you would ask – I have no favorite villains, or maybe they are all “favorite” villains because it all depends on the story I’m immersed in at the time.

About pjharjo

Janette is an author of Romantic Paranormal Fantasy. CONNECTIONS, her first series, is Indie published. You can follow her or sign up for her newsletter, and learn more about her new releases as they become available, at http://www.authorjanetteharjo.blogspot.com She lives in the beautiful and prolific Pacific NW of the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A GOOD Villain?

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Sounds like we agree on what a villain is. So what are you reading, who is the villain, and what makes him/her a good one?

    Like

  2. jeff7salter says:

    Yeah, the semantics are intriguing.
    It could be:
    what makes a good villain (bad person with some good)?
    what makes an evil villain (bad person with NO good)?
    What makes a realistic villain (bad person with complexities)?
    what makes an inadvertent villain (complex person whose actions inadvertently cause problems)?

    And there are probably many other variations.

    Like

  3. I totally agree with you. The term “villain” is subjective and not all fit the rotten to the core Snidely Whiplash mustache-twirling matinee villain mold….(gee , how badly did I just age myself?)
    I will take time to give some good though into my Friday post! Great start for the week, (as always), Patty.

    Like

    • Ooops, my Monday comment ended up on Tuesday! I really have been tired since my trip back…I ran on only a couple of hours sleep, and even that was broken-up, so forgive me, Janette!
      Good observations, but maybe you could tell us a little more about YOUR villains.

      Like

      • pjharjo says:

        Okay, I will. 🙂 As for the villain in my series (which I already mentioned), while evil to begin with, he is after my H*H out of vengeance. Anymore on his reasoning on that would be a spoiler!

        The villain in my wip for Halloween isn’t a person – it’s a curse the inhabitants of the story have fallen under and must find their way out of. Many interesting characters, who have been cursed, are waiting for the unsuspecting reader to meet! And again, anything more would be a spoiler. 😉

        Like

      • pjharjo says:

        Not to worry, Tonette. :))

        Like

    • pjharjo says:

      (I’ll not comment on any knowledge of SW.) Good luck with your post, Tonette! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

  4. Laurie Ryan says:

    Villains amp up the stakes, so the more evil, the better, in terms of interesting reading, I think. For instance, Darth Vader…now THERE’s a villain. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. pjharjo says:

    But he’s Luke Skywalker’s Father, Laurie! LOL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

