Never too early to start

Recently, I watched a show called Master Chef Junior with my children. My youngest loves to cook. On this show are kids between the ages of eight and twelve competing for the title of Master Chef. My littlest looked at me. “I’m going to have a restaurant when I grow up.” Then he went on to tell me some of the dishes he would serve.

I have always told my kids they could be anything they want to be. Quinlan, my twelve year old has always wanted to be an artist. I asked him what kind and his answer was, “A famous one so I can buy you a house.” He told me in detail about the place he plans to have someday. A three story storefront, each floor had a specific use. I want him to reach his goal.

Last year I wrote a story for my youngest child, not planning to do anything with it. I wrote it because I didn’t want him to forget what Christmas was really about. With all the gift giving, treats, and parties it can be difficult for a child (or adult) to lose sight of why we are celebrating. I did not send it out to anyone. My little artist said he would draw the pictures for me just so my kids would have them to look at when they read it. Well, why not send it out to someone and see what they think of the story and the first few sketches? About two hours after I queried it I got a response. I was ecstatic that the publisher liked Quinlan’s rough sketches. The next day I signed the contract for Christmas at the Zoo.

Quinlan is doing the illustrations. He’s been working diligently (as much as any twelve year old boy can be expected to during summer vacation) on the illustrations. At the time that I am writing this he has 12 sketches done where all he needs to do it outline and color them. He has 2 or 3 more planned. The goal is to have them done by the end of July so everything can be turned into the publisher.

I’ve been getting to watch my twelve year old work hard on his art. I’ve heard so many people comment on how talented he is. There is a light in his eyes that was not there just a few days ago. He loves art, he loves sharing that with others. He has big dreams for this little book and someone we know has already asked him to do illustrations for her books. That would be another three stories for him to illustrate after this one.

Yesterday Quinlan looked up from his sketchbook and said, “You need to write an Easter story with these guys.” He pointed picture he just created.

“Why?” I asked.

“I think we need more stories for them.” Then he turned back to his work.

It is never too early to start working toward your dream/goal. It is never too late either. Is there something you have always wanted to do?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Never too early to start

  1. jeff7salter says:

    wonderful in so many ways:
    * that you’re working [spending time] together with a son who’s just about to enter a phase of his life which changes & challenges almost everything
    * that he has such a creative bent and is willing to work to develop it
    * that you’re encouraging his creative side
    * that you & he already have a publishing contract!
    My parents were both very supportive of my juvenile creative endeavors — I guarantee you your son will always remember this

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so excited for all of you, esp. you and Quin with the book; how wonderful! I think you must be close to a model parent,Angie.
    If your little restaurateur needs any tips, let me know!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Tonette.
      I will probably have to ask you some questions in the future when it comes to cooking. He has plans to go to my sister’s to learn how to make some homemade soups.

      Like

Leave a Reply

