Writing, dancing, and praying

What does writing, dancing, and praying all have in common? Stress. Dealing with stress is a part of everyone’s lives. I do not know that I have gotten any better at dealing with stress as I have gotten older, I have changed how I deal with it now. Somewhat.

When I was younger I would write, go for walks, rock climbing at the Dens, go dancing, or clear my night to hang out with friends. Now that I have three children the way I deal with stress has changed some. No longer do I spend the night out dancing with friends to take my mind off of things and relax.

I still write, that is a wonderful way for me to deal with things. I can always write about what is bothering me. Have a character deal with what is going on and conquer it in some way. I have written silly stories for my kids to take my mind off of what is bothering me. When Quin had his surgery on his eyes I wrote. Sitting in the hospital waiting for them to finish the procedure I had my laptop out and wrote.

I still dance. Now it is dance parties at home. I’ll turn on some music, make my kids get up, and we’ll dance around. These dance parties are a million times better than going to the dance club ever was.

I pray, the biggest way I have found to deal with stress is to pray. This has helped me more than anything else has. Being able to turn over my problems to God is something I am ever so thankful for. I really do not have the words to express myself in this area. I know that it has helped. When Quin had his surgery a nurse came out and told me I was needed in the recovery room. I prayed so hard on the way to that room afraid something had happened to him. Turned out they had gotten me because he was in a panic from not being able to see and thought my presence there would help him, which it did.

This is how I deal with stress. It is nothing complicated but it works. How do you deal with stress?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writing, dancing, and praying

  1. Dance!I like the idea. And as for prayer, well, I tried very hard to live without it and I can attest that it helps. I don’t claim to understand God’s ways,but it helps.
    God bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I would say writing, dancing, and praying are a great combination! Dancing is definitely better for you than eating, which is what I tend to do. I like the idea of writing – especially if your characters manage to overcome the trails you’re enduring! And I agree that turning over your problems in prayer helps you to cope with whatever life hands you. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jeff7salter says:

    dancing wouldn’t affect me the same way — in fact, it might actually increase my stress.
    Never felt anything on the dance floor except self-conscious.
    Praying? yes, definitely.
    Writing? hmm. not sure if I use it in the same way you do (relative to stress relief). however, I tend to be able to write at just about anytime, under most conditions. If anything, I suppose stress would be a bit distracting to my writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

