The Visual

This week’s topic is visuals while writing. When I first started writing Love Overcomes I did not use visuals. I knew what my characters and where they were at looked like. As I talked to some of my friends who are authors I was told a lot about Pinterest. I had never really used the site before that. I didn’t create my board on Pinterest until after the rough draft was finished. While it was going through edits I did go and pin a lot of things. I found some things that were similar to what I had described and pinned them. I had to go back and add some details and change a few things. Creating the board helped me to get some details I needed about house style and dress style.

I did an extensive amount of research on the Disney parks so I could write one chapter. That was fun. I read through several sites and looked through so many pictures, I watched videos. I remember my daughter had to get stitches. The day that it was time to get them out she was crying and not wanting to hold still. Having her close her eyes I “walked” her through Disney World while they removed the stitches. Before we left the nurse had wondered if we’d ever been there. I told her no I was simply a writer who had done a lot of research about it.

I think visuals can really help, especially if you are trying to write about a real place. I can go back and look to see where this is positioned and make sure that I get it all down properly.

Dream casts is something I tend to do now. When writing I will describe my characters then when I am done writing for that day I head over to Pinterest to find an actor or model who is similar in appearance to the character I have introduced. This helps me to remember who had what color of eyes or if they have a lopsided smile as I may notes in the pin. I do edit a lot of my notes before I make the boards public though. 😉

When writing Jade I used Pinterest a lot. A LOT. It was my best friend during the writing of that story. Jade is set in the future after governments collapsed and electricity failed. I searched for abandoned towns, factories, amusement parks. Pioneer and earlier dress, homes, and shops were even looked up so I could mimic some styles in this world that needed to rebuild because it had lost all conveniences. I had Pinterest pulled up every time I sat down to write all the way until I finished the last bit of edits.

While I can write without the visuals I do find that it helps especially if I am not working on a contemporary. As a reader do you like when an author shares inspirations for things in their stories?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Visual

  1. jeff7salter says:

    love the anecdote about calming your daughter by “walking” her through Disneyland in her mind’s eye. That’s not only creative imagination, but wonderful parenting.
    I’m a pretty visual guy, basically, but I still don’t know what I’m going to write about for Hound Day on this topic of visuals in writing.

    Like

  2. That is a fascinating story about your daughter and Disneyland, Angie!
    Most people like anecdotes.I am of two minds about finding out about inspiration.I like to get ‘lost’ in a story and feel that it is real and the characters ‘come alive’ to me. TMI might burst the bubble. I think that’s why I prefer acknowledgements at the beginning of a book; by the time a story and the people in it get my attention, I’ve put where they actually came from in he back of my mind.
    What an interesting question! You are going to keep me thinking about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Isn’t it wonderful when you find a system that works for you? I guess it makes sense to have your visuals in one place, like a Pinterest board, so that you can refer to it easily BEFORE writing. Love how you know your Disneyland setting so well that you could take someone else through it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

