Dog Days revisited…

Dog Days

It seems this week’s topic is the one I messed up on and wrote about in an earlier week. But I’ll write on it again because it’s this week’s topic and things have changed since my previous post.

Whereas I believe I mentioned the benefits of my fan last; it’s since changed into a homemade air-conditioner. That happened due to the fact I (in my gracefulness) tripped over my fan and fell on it, thus breaking it. It still works, but the fan is no longer attached to its tall base.

Broken Fan

My behind hit the floor hard and I felt it. But I realized I was okay and stood to ponder my new circumstances.

slip and fall

First I tried to put it back together, but that didn’t work. 🙂 Then I leaned it against its base and used it from there.

Ms. Fix-it

After a few days suffering through the heat without my standing fan, I decided to make the homemade air conditioner I’ve been thinking about. (The natural air-conditioning still works, but some days there’s no air flow.) 😦

breeze blowing through windows

The air-conditioner is basically easy to make, but it involves finding a fan small enough to fit into a hole in the top of an Ice-Chest. Guess what’s sold out in EVERY store I visited in search of one?

sold out

It even took me a while to find a small Styrofoam Ice-Chest, but I got one of those. The easiest to find, and which I got first was a vent to put into a hole in the Ice-Chest.

air vent

styrofoam cooler

I gave up on finding a small fan, so I filled the Ice-Chest with ice and put the fan from my broken standing fan on the top of it. Works like a charm… 🙂

0810151604b

 

 

About pjharjo

Janette is an author of Romantic Paranormal Fantasy. CONNECTIONS, her first series, is Indie published. You can follow her or sign up for her newsletter, and learn more about her new releases as they become available, at http://www.authorjanetteharjo.blogspot.com She lives in the beautiful and prolific Pacific NW of the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dog Days revisited…

  1. Laurie Ryan says:

    I love it. That’s using your head and creating your own “cool” AC! Well done, Janette!

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      Thanks, Laurie. Truth be told, the idea behind this came from an online “hack” I learned about. The idea of putting my old fan on top of the cooler was my idea of a “hack” on the online idea. 🙂

      Like

  2. That is certainly a way to go about it especially if you live where it is not too hot often enough to justify purchasing an air conditioning unit. I hope you are staying cool this summer.

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      Actually, Angela. I’m one of those folks who LOVE the hot weather! But you’re right about the outlay of $$ not being too good an idea. I live in the PNW where it’s not too hot most of the time. We’re just having an unusually warm summer this year. YAY! The temperature’s been above, above normal for the area. My homemade A-C unit didn’t cost much and it takes up no more room than the fan did.

      Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    very cool idea. quite resourceful.
    glad you weren’t injured when you tripped & fell.

    Like

  4. I have seen variations, but had no idea they worked! Very clever, very entertaining post!

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      The a-c does work, but you’ve gotta keep ice in it. Derby gets the credit for the post. I was lucky and glad he allowed me to interview him! We’re both happy we entertained you, Tonette! 🙂 Derby is quite an entertaining character.

      Like

  5. Patricia Kiyono says:

    What a great DIY project! Glad it works and that your fall didn’t hurt you too much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

