The hot days of summer

The hottest parts of summer are over where I live. It is still hot out but I do not think there will be many more heat advisory days. Which is wonderful. How do I deal with the summer heat?

I am not sure that I do much of anything different in the summer now that I have an ac unit. I will try to go out in the mornings before the heat and humidity really hit but other than that I do not do a lot more.

I will take my children to play in the sprinklers or to get a slushie. Then encourage them to come inside to cool down before they go out again. I get as much work done as I can in the middle part of the day so I can go out and enjoy the cooler evening with my children.

However treats get changed up a bit at home. Purple cows, orange julius, and popsicles tend to be seen a lot starting in July. One child has a summer birthday and it tends to be so hot that we do not go outside to enjoy the day and play. But for his birthday the one fun thing we do is make our own ice cream. That is always fun. The kids enjoy having all the ice. On occasion it will find itself in someone’s lap as a surprise that erupts the area in giggles and the yelp from the person who received it.

Do you have any cool treats for the hottest days of summer?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The hot days of summer

  1. pjharjo says:

    Still got kids at home. What fun! (seriously, folks) What cool treats do I make for hot days, you ask? I’ve recently learned how to make the Dole Whips they serve at Disneyland! They are wonderful to sip on a hot summer day! How do I make them, you ask? Well, even if you don’t ask, I’m going to tell you. Buy a pineapple and chop it up, then freeze it. After it’s frozen (MUST be frozen) put the pieces in a blender and pour some coconut milk over them. Then blend until thick and fluffy. It comes out so you have to dip it out with a spoon, or you could put it into some kind of a sleeve so you can squeeze it out the end and fill a cup (or cone) with it and it’ll look like a Disneyland Dole Whip!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I’m an ice cream junkie. Anything that has chocolate in it is my favorite: Moose Tracks (there’s a Michigan version called Deer Tracks), Rocky Road, Chocolate Mint… you get the idea. If it doesn’t have chocolate IN it I’ll usually put hot fudge ON it. Ice cream sandwiches are okay in a pinch, as well as ice cream on a stick. A few years ago we discovered Magnum bars – wow, there’s a real treat!

    Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    Interestingly, I’ve never cared much for slushies. Although, when they first appeared (I was in H.S.) and were called ICEEs in our area, I used to buy them because I thought it made me LOOK “cool”. Ha.
    I love ice cream and homemade ice cream can be fantastic. It can also be soupy… so I really appreciate folks who know how to do it right.
    Two of my grandkids have summer birthdays… so I know what you mean about outside parties.

    Like

    • When I was making ice cream the other day my younger brother said the same thing about it being soupy. I told him not if you do it right. It got to the point where it was making “music” and I let it keep going. The boys were dancing to the sound the ice cream maker was making. It came out like soft serve. I was going to let it go a bit longer but it was ten o’clock because I got started making it late.

      We call them Icee’s too. I always here other people call them slushies. I would rather have a shaved ice though if I am going that route.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jeff7salter says:

        I’m sure Icees & Slushies are almost identical except for the brand name and what they call their flavors.

        Like

  4. The kids go for ice cream and freezer pops, the tubes of fruit-flavored ice that you cut the end off, push up and eat.
    For me, it’s iced tea, maybe fruited tea… always with LOTS of ice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

