“Use a piece of jewelry for inspiration”

I think this week’s topic calls for a repeat for me. I believe I’ve already told you about my necklace. It’s a typewriter key with my initial “J” on it.

0824151551

I received this necklace from my Romance Writers of America chapter (Olympia RWA) in commemoration of my first sale back in 2013. Okay…I’ll admit I feel special when I wear it and it gives me inspiration when I need it to continue writing. Although I have many necklaces, a few rings, some pins and maybe a couple bracelets, I’m not sure I have any other piece of jewelry I could say I’d use for inspiration.

I’ve got lots of earrings, but most depress me to look at unless I see past the memories they possess. They were given to me by the man who most recently and permanently broke my heart and hanged my life forever. I still wear them all because they’re pretty, but I suppose the ones I like the best remind me of my indigenous (Native American) heritage. I’ve got a lot that are bead worked, some dream catchers, and some feathered.

0824151651 0824151644 0824151645 0824151651

I’m not quite sure if this is what was expected for today’s topic, but there you have it! (: >))

Is there anyone else out there like me who attaches too many memories to stuff?

About pjharjo

Janette is an author of Romantic Paranormal Fantasy. CONNECTIONS, her first series, is Indie published. You can follow her or sign up for her newsletter, and learn more about her new releases as they become available, at http://www.authorjanetteharjo.blogspot.com She lives in the beautiful and prolific Pacific NW of the USA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to

  1. jeff7salter says:

    since I’ve loved typewriters for most of my life, I really like the idea of the keypad being used as a necklace decoration.
    I’m not much of a jewelry person, so I don’t know what I’m going to write about this week either.

    Like

  2. I really like the necklace and the reason for it,Janette. I think that is very kind and supportive of your RWA chapter. On someone’s blog was the question if writers would give other writers bad reviews to cut out the competition, but I have yet to see that , either in romance or in mystery.
    Yes, I attach a lot of sentiment to many things.I have had to rather get a grip of myself about many things, but I admit to still having some items from childhood…never mind how old they are!

    Like

    • pjharjo says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Tonette! You’re right; my RWA chapter is the BEST as far as mutual support goes. 🙂 And unless the writer is very small minded, there is no “competition” in this industry.

      Like

  3. To some pieces of jewelry there is some sentimental value. Everyone in my immediate family received a ring or necklace with the same design upon graduating. It was from our parents. I love that.

    Like

  4. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I don’t wear earrings but I love seeing them on other people. I especially love your Native American inspired ones. It’s wonderful to be able to wear things that reflect your heritage. Pretty collection!

    Like

  5. pjharjo says:

    Thanks, Patricia! I never wore earrings until my daughter gave me a gift certificate to get mine pierced. I was a chicken to get them pierced before then, but with her gift – what could I do?? I had to go under the gun… LOL! Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

Leave a Reply

