Diaper Desperado

I don’t have a lot of jewelry so this week I went to talk to my parents. There were so many wonderful pieces to choose from, many with a story behind them. I got to see a civil war medal that my dad found on his old farm. It was interesting to look at. Then I got to see my grandpa’s class ring. There was a beautiful necklace that was the first necklace my dad had given my mother. A thick bracelet with engraving on it that my mom had given to my dad back when they were in high school.
“What does it say Jeanne?” He asked looking at the worn letters and wanting to know if she still remembered; knowing full well that she did. Before my mom could answer I did.

OLWALAND

I was right. That is their thing, their code. I remember it being on every gift I have ever seen them give to each other. I guess it started back when they were in high school with that first gift.

Then there was a beautiful locket which looks like a book. A cross adorns the front of it and it opens up to reveal a spot for 4 photos. My sister purchased it for my mother back when she only had 4 grandchildren.

I was shown several items that I could use for inspiration. The one I liked the most was given to my parents when my oldest brother was born. Not your typical jewelry as it is a set of diaper pins. But they are the most adorable ones I have ever seen.

IMG_20150825_100610

Diaper Desperado

The clock on the wall loudly ticked off each second. Laying her weary head back on the pillow she pushed back the long, slightly tangled brown tresses which were usually kept sleek and loose down her back. Her mind drifted off to a Sunday drive that would change her life forever.

Every week her family went for a drive in the country after church. Sometimes they went to her grandfather’s melon farm for a short visit and the tastiest cantaloupes this side of the Mississippi. This week they headed in the opposite direction. Her sister younger sisters chattered away beside her but the moment she saw him every thing else was tuned out.

A cowboy with jet black hair astride a beautiful horse. The horse danced for him or perhaps with him. The rapid movements of the horse’s hooves and the fluidity with which the young man moved with the beast held her captive.

She stared openly out the window as they drove by.

It was him, the boy who sat a few rows in front of her in study hall. The large auditorium at the high school was used for several classes during study hour. This upper classman just happened to sit in front of her. Through-out the school year she must have spent hours staring at the back of his head willing him to turn around and notice her. Every time he did she had glanced away pretending that she was busy with her studies.

He wouldn’t notice her in the car tucked behind the window. As her gaze met his he smiled and nodded in her direction. Those blue eyes pierced her heart, she would marry him some day. That cowboy would be hers. Now to get up the courage to actually speak to him in school.

Sighing she opened her eyes to glance at the clock. Two minutes. That was all the time that had passed?

For the first time in her life she was nervous while in church. In front of the mirror she tucked her curled strands under the white sunhat and pulled the little veil attached to it down over her face. The short white dress hit the top of her knees.

Slipping her hand through her father’s arm she allowed him to lead her down the aisle. By the alter was the other half of her heart. His dimple revealed itself as the smile spread farther with each step she took.

Why in the world did the walk to her future have to take so long? Why was a wedding such a public event, so many eyes staring at her. Making her nervous. If she’d wanted that much attention she would have run off to Hollywood.

In just a few moments the world would know that they belonged together. By the time her hand was settled into his her heart pounded furiously. Focus on him. The desperado who had stolen her heart.

“Can I?” A sweet soft voice tugged her attention to the present. Her eyes fluttered open. A head of golden curls bounced near the edge of the bed.

“What?” The words came out sleepily.

“Hold him.” She wiggled up onto the edge of the bed. The door opened causing both sets of eyes to go to them. He hadn’t changed much over the years. Perhaps he’d grown more handsome with time. The little bundle in his arms squirmed. Dancing blue eyes twinkled as he perched on the edge of the bed.

“He’s perfect.” She breathed out as she scooped him into her arms. Her daughter and husband on either side of her. He had been beautiful when she first laid eyes on him but he was even more so now that the nurses had cleaned him up. Laying him down on the bed she unwrapped the blanket to look at his little hands and toes.

Two shiny objects caught her eye as soon as the blanket fell away. Only a few hours old and he was already being brought up to be a little desperado. In lieu of plain diaper pins were two six shooters.

After swaddling the baby boy back up she leaned into the arms of her cowboy and cradled her little diaper desperado while her beautiful daughter snuggled close to her other side.

The clock on the wall chimed as if in celebration of this wonderful moment in her life.

~~~

My mother really did decide that she would some day marry my dad after seeing him and his dancing horse on the side of the road while out for a drive. I remember her telling me about study hall though I am not sure if it happened before or after the horse. I was looking through my mom’s jewelry box with her when she and my dad showed me these adorable diaper pins that were given to them as a gift when their oldest boy was born.

Looking through the old items that have been tucked away for years inspired so many stories. One of the watches will be appearing in my current work in progress. Have you ever had a piece of jewelry that brought a tale to mind?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Diaper Desperado

  1. jeff7salter says:

    love the story about the diaper pins.
    Very cool that your family has those items with such history.
    What does OLWALAND mean?

    Like

  2. You really took this to heart and ran with it,Angie! I love the stories of all the pieces you mentioned.
    I will have to think about jewelry as inspiration. I have a few good true stories that involve pieces.
    Nice work.

    Like

    • Thank you Tonette. I love any excuse I have to get my parents to talk about times gone by. My daughter was disappointed that she did not get to go up to their room to look with me but they already have gifts for Christmas hidden up there.

      I look forward to reading what you come up with.

      Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Beautiful story! I could give you the same advice you gave me on Monday – take this and expand it into a longer piece. Nice work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

