Before it Freezes.

End of summer projects seem to be everywhere. I had a few things I wanted to get done this summer. The following are things I have not done yet that need to be done before it freezes. So these are getting transferred over to my autumn list of tasks to complete.

Project one is the car. I keep a little trashcan in my car, it makes it easier to clean. There was a time when I didn’t keep one in the car and the kids would toss things on the floor of the car during road trips to the doctors’ that were out of town. It became a pain. The floor of the car needs to be vacuumed out though I think that will wait until after the bulk of the leaves have fallen.
Now that it is not as hot and humid out I need to sand down the rusty spots on my car and repaint. I would hate to see how much bigger those spots will be next summer if I do not take care of it now.

The second project is for my mom. She has a swing in her yard. It used to be that you could find my parents sitting on it in the early morning hours with a fire going in their fire pit. They have not used it at all this summer, I assume it is because of the burn ban we had earlier in the season. My mom has expressed a desire to have the swing repainted. She has had it for three or four years. The weather has worn away at its finish. My Quin volunteered to help me with this task. He wants to paint it to resemble our flag. While my brother had suggested that I pick up some glow in the dark paint and create a 3D alien sitting on the bench. Not sure my parents would appreciate that.

The third project will probably take the longest. My parents have a decent sized place in town. Their lot sits on a corner so they have more sidewalk space to take care of than other people. Half a block on one side and a quarter of a block of sidewalk on the other side. This means shoveling the walk in the winter takes longer.

A few years back my dad shattered his wrist when he hit a patch of ice. He was off work for a long while and had to do rehab after the surgery to fix it. To this day it still causes him some pain. That winter my older brother would go over to shovel the walk. He worked for a landscaping company the city paid them to take care of city owned walks in the winter. While the guys were over using the snow blower on a city sidewalk he would rush over with his shovel and quickly do the sidewalks for my dad.

Last summer that brother moved out of state. My Quin decided he wanted to help his grandpa. We drove down a few times after it snowed for him to help shovel. The times we did not make it down there was a little path cleared from the house to the car and the rest was left.

Quin and I decided that will not happen this year. We will go down more often. All of that to tell you about the project.

Clearing the sidewalks. Right now the sidewalks are getting overgrown with grass. It is coming up over the sides and through the crack between each square. This makes it a pain to shovel in the winter. Before the freeze comes we (my son and I) will be going down there to scrape back the overgrowth.

Writing projects for the summer. I finished Christmas at the Zoo. All the illustrations are done, thanks to Quinlan Schroeder. It is up for pre order on Amazon and will be out October 13th of this year. That was the only project I had planned to have finished this summer.
I write a lot more in the winter months. I already have a project set aside for Nano but that is another post.

Is there anything that you want to get done BEFORE it freezes?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Before it Freezes.

  1. jeff7salter says:

    wow — you have a lot of outdoors, physical stuff in your inventory. Something I rarely attempt to tackle these days.
    Love the idea of the 3-D alien on the bench/swing.
    Terrific that your son is so helpful and willing to help — that’s a rare commodity in this newest generation.
    when you’re thru painting that swing, post a pix of that and the fire pit. I’m trying to collect enough energy and $$$ to re-do our fire pit.
    Congrats on the Christmas / Zoo book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I will post a picture. I plan to surprise them with a a real fire pit. My brother got them an old above ground one. In my opinion it is an eye sore. I figure with my boys to help I can get a nice pit dug and built for them. I hope to have that done by their anniversary in May. 2 more years and they can retire, I want them to be able to enjoy their space.

      Thanks Jeff. I had people asking about that book at church last night. I think because it is something they can read to their kids.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jeff7salter says:

        We’ve been wanting to improve ours since we moved in — 8 yrs ago — but it always comes down to labor, weather, & expense. Also we can’t seem to agree on how to re-do it. I have one plan in mind — which is simpler and cheaper, but won’t ever be on the cover of a magazine. My spouse has something grander and more costly.

        Liked by 1 person

      • When you decide what to do with it please post photos.

        Like

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    It’s wonderful that so many your projects, including writing, include your kids. And I vote for the flag swing rather than the alien!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think I will go with the flag one. Unless Quinlan decides to go with something else. He is my artist, so i will trust him. While the alien one would probably amuse my mother for Halloween I do not think she would want it that way all the time.

      It is wonderful being able to do things like this with my children. They are growing up so quickly.

      Like

  3. I have a list of what SHOULD have been done and what MIGHT get done, considering my husband broke his ankle at work last night, I may not have the time to do what I had planned.
    You are a very good daughter with very good kids! And I love your brother’s sense of humor!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

