Broken Plans

Are there any summer projects you want/hope/need to finish up before the summer is over? Or so they ask this week…I am ashamed to answer this one.

Summer will be officially over this Monday, but I am hoping for a decent Autumn. Often it goes straight from too-hot to too-cold here where I live in N. Central Kentucky, but last year we had a nice Fall; I’m hoping for a rerun.

I had a number of plans for this Summer, but I got few done. To my defense, we had an incredibly hot and/or wet months of June-August.

We had very, very high temps and a record number of rains, which made all the clearing out of over-grown flowerbeds, overrun rockery and major planting very hard, all of which I had planned to do. I barely had time to do some trimming and weeding because with the heat and water, it all grew right back very quickly, so instead of getting extra clearing done, I had to re-do what I had already cleared…several times.

We also did not get the remainder of what is left of our fence down and bushes planted for a little privacy. Now that the house and its trees are gone that were between us and the state highway, part of our yard and our porch is exposed to the world….I’m not really happy about that.

I have rattan porch chairs which had belonged to my aunt; they are approximately seventy years old. I cleaned them, and dried them, TWICE, in order to seal them with stain/paint, but I did not get them finished. I hope I have decent weather coming up.

Nor did I repaint a few chairs I have in the house which I’d like to spruce-up, along with the metal racks which are in my bathrooms; I re-do those every couple of years.

With the incredible heat, I also did not get to sort and bundle sets of toys that have been sitting, jumbled, in a large toy box in my garage for the last four years…obviously, the grandkids no longer need these. And because of the heat, I also did not get to sort through our Christmas decorations which are out there, either. I know I have kept too-old and broken items for sentimental reasons and can’t find the good ones when I want them. No more!

I DID get many old clothes sorted out and donated. A local charity thrift store takes even unsalable clothing and volunteers cut out-of-style, torn and stained clothing into flat pieces and they make a tidy profit selling bags of rags to local factories.

I had far too many serving dishes and those were thinned and given away. The same with many of my baking pans. I will never run a bakery again and although I will cook and bake, I simply did not need all that I had. (I know I still kept more than I need.) The same with my candy-making and decorating supplies. Out went redundant glassware, unused mugs and odd dishes.

And books.

I didn’t count how many books left the house, (I’d guess a couple of thousand), but I can estimate that at least several hundred went out the door, along with dozens of movies and a couple of dozen games/puzzles.

And we are still crowded….but at least, we made progress. I may be optimistic, but I am hoping for a decent Fall so that some of the planned Summer projects don’t get put off until next year.

However, since I wrote this early in the week, I am less optimistic. Not only does my helpful grandson have a broken hand and is in cast, my husband now has a broken ankle.

So, although I had planned on doing many of the projects myself, I now have extra household duties that The Husband usually handles.

Wish me luck.

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in big plans, disability, Family, Life, Tonette Joyce. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Broken Plans

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I know it’s frustrating when your plans go awry, but it sounds like you did get some things done! I tried to clear out things this summer as well and made several trips to donate books to the library, clothing to the Salvation Army, and fabric to the quilting guild, but I probably should give away even more. Hope your grandson and husband recover quickly.

    Like

  2. Sorry to hear about your grandson and husband. I hope they both heal up quickly

    There are things that you did not get done but it seems that you did get a lot accomplished that the weather would allow you to do.

    Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    sounds like your summer didn’t quite live up to expectations either. Sorry to learn about the injuries to your hubby and grandson. I’m sure both puts extra work on you.
    when you get those 70 year old chairs repainted, be sure to post a pix on FB. I’d like to see them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

