Lazy Summer

I have never had to write about how I spent my summer. I remember as a kid always wondering if we would have to do that when school started because kids on television had to do it. Nope, I never had to do it until now.

Looking back on my summer I realize I did not do a whole lot of anything. It was indeed a lazy summer. In June I pretty much did whatever my youngest wanted to do since he was going to be leaving to visit his father for 3 weeks. We had never been away from each other for that long. So June was spent with days at my parents’ house and nights working on edits for Jade. My parents have a huge yard and I keep my kids’ bikes down there. My brother taught the kids how to play video games, I have deprived them of game systems their entire lives.

In July my 5 year old went to visit his dad and that left me with my older two. Our days in July were spent with my nephew who is 6. Playing with him helped us to keep our mind off of the fact that our little man was not home.

The first week of July I signed a contract for a children’s book. With a goal to have it published by October illustrations needed to be done in a timely manner. Luckily, I had Quinlan here to do them. He was such an amazingly hard worker getting them sketched in a week and a half. Then the two of us worked with a computer program wo get his illustrations colored in. Each illustration took at least 3 hours to do. At last they were all done and submitted.

Wyatt came home on the last day of the carnival. We spent the day there. Playing games, our favorite was the Skee-ball. You could play that for only a quarter while all the other games cost at least a dollar, some three. We walked away from there with several stuffed animals.

August came along and I volunteered at Vacation Bible School which is a week long event here. My daughter volunteered as well since she is not in high school and too old to attend. I ran a bean bag toss game and handed out candy to the kids who played my game. That week not only did I help out there but I had my nephew stay with me for the week so I could take him to VBS every day.

There was an interview for a local magazine at the end of summer. It was supposed to be Quinlan getting interviewed but the lady who was talking to him said it seemed that all of his artistic abilities and aspirations come from him trying to mimick me. And with that she decided that she needed to get some of my story as well. It had never occurred to me that my son may be interested in art because of the things that I do. Well for whatever reason he likes it I am thankful that he does because he has a talent.

Then the horrible back to school shopping started. I do NOT like shopping, I enjoy buying gifts but when I have a list that I have to go by and everyone else is out shopping at the same time I do not care for it at all. With confusion over which school my youngest would be attending and each school having a different list it took a little longer to get it finished up. Once the school situation was straightened out and all supplies were purchased, labeled, and put away for the first day of school the last few days of their summer vacation was spent playing outside while they could.

We did sit outside until 1 in the morning to look for meteors during the Perseid shower. This falls on Quinlan’s birthday every year so it has become tradition. We did not see any this summer though.

Now that summer is over and the leaves are beginning to adorn their autumn dress I have begun to work on a new project. I am finally back to writing every single day and it feels good.

One of the best days of this past summer was the day we spent at the carnival. Did you go to a carnival or fair this summer?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lazy Summer

  1. jeff7salter says:

    a new book contract, an interview, and a new release — very productive summer.
    No, I never had to write the “summer vacation” essay either, so this will be my first time as well.
    Did not get to the county fair this year, though I had thought about going.
    I hate shopping, particularly when the stores are filled with crowds of other people wanting the same stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a productive Summer to me, Angie! The time spent helping your children and your nephew is investing in the future…time that will go so quickly and never return.
    Remind me, (and tell our other readers), how old Quin is again? It adds to how impressive it is that he is doing illustrations.
    And I remember the dreaded,”What Did You Do on Your Summer Vacation” essays. I never had much to say, but my Summers were long and filled with quiet fun and family.

    Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I remember writing those “What I Did This Summer” essays. My family didn’t travel, we didn’t go camping, and we didn’t go to the beach, so I did a lot of reading, sewing, and knitting. I loved sewing and knitting with my mom, and when I got older I loved reading things that my dad read so that we could discuss them. So I can understand why your son was eager to work with you on your illustrations. Sounds like you had some quality family time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

