Don’t Bet On It

Ever Been in a Long Line and Needed a Restroom?

By Jeff Salter

I often use the free week here at 4F1H to mention one of my published titles. So I went back over my list and guess what… I’ve never mentioned this one — from April of 2014, with Clean Reads [formerly Astraea Press].

I started this as a short story for an anthology C.R. was putting together. But I soon realized I had more story here than I could squeeze into the 6,000 word maximum for that collection. So I wrote a different one for the anthology [“Love and Diamonds”] and let these characters (Chloe and Brett) finish their story on their own terms.

Don’t Bet On It
By J.L. Salter
A short novella
About 16,000 words

Chloe only bargained to save her place in the Super Sale line, but Brett wagered his way into her heart.

DontBetOnIt500X750

Blurb:

Chloe Watson wants to keep her place in line for the Electronics Super Sale, but really needs a restroom break. Will that handsome jogger be willing to stand still for fifteen minutes… for a $10 fee?

Brett Hardy agrees, but bets it will take her much longer to return — if Chloe wins, she owes him nothing… but if Brett wins, she has to accept his invitation to dinner. How long could the lines be at the ladies room?

Chloe’s best friend thinks she’s crazy to agree to dine with a stranger – on a wager – and imagines only worst case scenarios.

It turns out Brett has even more surprises up his sleeve — and if a bet won’t work, maybe a bribe will.

Perhaps Chloe can be tricked by wagers and bribes, but she can’t understand why Brett resorts to gimmicks instead of just asking her out.

Of course, if he did ask, she’d probably have to say “don’t bet on it.”

– – –

Only 99 cents in digital formats:
http://tinyurl.com/JLS-DBOI

[ JLS # 245 ]

About jeff7salter

Currently writing romantic comedy, screwball comedy, and romantic suspense. Twelve completed novels and five completed novellas. Working with three royalty publishers: Clean Reads, Dingbat Publishing, & TouchPoint Press/Romance. "Size Matters" -- Oct. 2016 "The Duchess of Earl" -- Jul. 2016 "Stuck on Cloud Eight" -- Nov. 2015, "Pleased to Meet Me" (novella) -- Oct. 2015, "One Simple Favor" (novella) -- May 2015, "The Ghostess & MISTER Muir" -- Oct. 2014, "Scratching the Seven-Month Itch" -- Sept. 2014, "Hid Wounded Reb" -- Aug. 2014, "Don't Bet On It" (novella) -- April 2014, "Curing the Uncommon Man-Cold -- Dec. 2013, "Echo Taps" (novella) -- June 2013, "Called To Arms Again" -- (a tribute to the greatest generation) -- May 2013, "Rescued By That New Guy in Town" -- Oct. 2012, "The Overnighter's Secrets" -- May 2012. Co-authored two non-fiction books about librarianship (with a royalty publisher), a chapter in another book, and an article in a specialty encyclopedia. Plus several library-related articles and reviews. Also published some 120 poems, about 150 bylined newspaper articles, and some 100 bylined photos. Worked about 30 years in librarianship. Formerly newspaper editor and photo-journalist. Decorated veteran of U.S. Air Force (including a remote ‘tour’ of duty in the Arctic … at Thule AB in N.W. Greenland). Married; father of two; grandfather of six.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Don’t Bet On It

  1. I am notorious for my trips to restrooms, Jeff!People who know me come up to me in pubic to ask where the nearest one is…because they know that I will know! Shoot, strangers ask me where restrooms are;(there must be something about me!)
    However, never, even when I was young and fairly attractive did I ever encounter such a possibility.. Hmmm…wish I had thought of that one; it’s quite a pick-up line!
    You bet this one is high on my tbr list, being so close to my heart and all…or maybe lower…LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I’ve always thought this sounded like an intriguing premise. I just downloaded it – hope I get a chance to read it soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeff7salter says:

      Thanks, Patricia! Hope you enjoy it.
      It was especially fun writing Chloe’s best friend, ? Joan?
      [I can’t remember all my characters’ names anymore.]

      Like

Leave a Reply

