Thornton.

Do I have a favorite romance hero? Hmm I have several but there are a few who really stand out. I enjoy classic books. So the heroes that come to mind when asked this question are the men who women have been swooning over for years.

Mister Darcy is one that seems to be popular. I admit he has this quality about him that is appealing. He has had actors portray him wonderfully and in a way that even more women have fallen under his spell.

I lean more toward John Thornton from North and South. Here is a man that is no where near perfect. In fact upon first meeting him you do not think much of him. He is sort of callous and brooding. Then you get glimpses to why he is the way he is. Why is he so strict and so hard on the workers? When you find out he is simply trying to protect them you start to fall for him. Then discovering that he has cared for his family since his father passed well that  makes you like him even more.

I do not know if there are as many screen adaptions of this novel as there is of Pride and Prejudice though both books were written around the same time and both authors did a wonderful job creating worlds and characters that last through the ages. There is the BBC mini-series which I found to be a wonderful depiction of the novel. It is 9 hours long and really lets you in to the lives of these characters.

Thornton is not the sort of hero that people seem to want these days. He is not perfect, he is flawed. Wonderfully so. He is real. When you read about him you may even be able to find someone you know who reminds you a bit of this brooding man. That is what is so great about him. He is a believable character and that makes him so much more appealing to me.

What sort of hero is your favorite? Do you want to read about someone who is “perfect” or do you like to see the flaws, see what makes them just like everyone else?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thornton.

  1. jeff7salter says:

    I did some minor research on Darcy, for a manuscript I wrote about two years ago, but I’ve never seen that P&P movie or read the P&P novel. One day I’ll have to.
    Haven’t seen North and South either, though I was aware of it when it first ran on TV. Not sure why I didn’t watch it — might have been one of those things about a network I didn’t receive at the time.
    I’m still working on my entry for Hound Day.

    Like

  2. Still working on mine for Friday but Jane Austin’s heroes get a definite nod. I am not familiar with “North and South”, but my mother enjoyed the miniseries. I am always glad to hear that an adaptation did justice to a novel…I maintain that some films are definite improvements over some written works.

    Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Perfect people leading perfect lives are boring. Seemingly perfect people who are that way because of a flawed past – well, that’s better. I heard Mary Balogh speak a few years ago about wounded heroes and she was right: their flaws are what make them strong. And that’s what makes John Thornton an interesting hero.

    Like

Leave a Reply

