Autumn Morning

This week we were asked what Fall looks, smells, sounds, and tastes like. I figured the best way to tell this is to take you through one of my mornings.

Early in the morning before he sun wakes up my youngest child scurries into my room and snuggles up to me. “I need to cuddle.” He whispers as he places his cold hands on my face. I tuck him under the covers and wait an hour until the sky starts to lighten before I get up for the day. There is a chill in the house that causes the kids to want to stay under their warm quilts but a warm breakfast of pancakes waits for them. For the next thirty minutes running water, clanging cups, and exclamations of, “Is it time to leave?”, “I don’t wanna go!” ring through my home while I pour three steaming travel mugs of hot chocolate and set them on the counter to be grabbed on the way out the door.

Outside we walk briskly holding jackets shut against the crisp breeze. The aroma of bacon wafts toward us as we walk by the restaurant. Bright red leaves cover the young trees along the boulevard. Three children rush to get into the car while I wipe dew off the windows. A veil of mist separates Iowa and Illinois. Causing my little part of the world to feel magical.

Children trudge along to school wearing hoodies while their breath comes out like smoke. Some of them are in shorts knowing that it will be warmer once school is out. Their shouts echo through the streets as they call to their friends. I pull my now warm car into the drop off lane and shift it into park. “Have a good day. I love you both.”

“I love you, Momma.” The youngest calls out as he pulls his Darth Vader backpack onto his shoulders and climbs out of the vehicle. “Love you, see you after school.” Quinlan calls over his shoulder. The two of them hold hands as Quinlan walks Wyatt to the door of the elementary school. He waits, bouncing from one foot to the other until Wyatt is safely inside the building then he runs the half a block to the junior high school.

Once I’m free of the school traffic my daughter and I head to the other end of town. I pull up to a house that sits on a large lot. The mature trees are still green but the lilac bushes around the porch are bare. As soon as we step into the house the tantalizing scent of freshly brewed coffee mixed with the aroma of biscuit and gravy calls out to me. Jessica hurries over to her grandparents.

“I need help.” She states as she pulls a throw over her lap. I take up residence in the rocker and wait as Jess tells her grandma about her home economics project. While the two of them work on her dress I pull out my laptop and get to work. The morning is passed in relative silence whereas only a few weeks before three children were playing while I tried to work.

Are your mornings different at all in the fall?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Autumn Morning

  1. jeff7salter says:

    beautifully described.
    Makes me want to come watch.
    As far as the topic for this week, I’m still pondering.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post,Angie! What an enchanting take on the subject! You write beautifully.

    Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Great post! Sounds like a great morning. I had one that would always wake up an hour before she needed to. I let her get in bed with me and watch tv until it was time for me to get up. I miss those days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

