Nano no go

This week we’re talking about NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) which just ended Monday night. I love NaNo. I was all ready for it. I signed up, I “friended” other authors I knew so I could cheer them on to victory, I had the story I was going to work on ready to go but then I couldn’t do it.

At about day 4 of NaNo my computer ran into some glitches. It started shutting down on me and popping up with a message that there was an error. It is very difficult to write when you never know if the computer is going to suddenly turn off on you. The computer is still not fixed, I pan to purchase a new one after the holidays. But I am writing by hand so at least I’m still writing.

Word count goals, I don’t set them. It puts expectations on creativity. When I don’t meat the goal I get down and start questioning what I’m doing. I tossed the goals. Now I write with only the goal to get the story down. Some days I get very little words down but others…well..I’ve written 10,000 in a day before just because the story was flowing and I didn’t want to stop. It was actually in a two day period since I did not turn off the computer that night until a little after 6 in the morning.

Are you a goal person or a by the moment kind of person?

 

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nano no go

  1. I’m going t have to do some soul-searching on that answer for Friday,Angie.I do hope all goes well with your computer purchase.I think after the holidays you will get good deals, like we did.

    Like

  2. jeff7salter says:

    very sorry about your computer issues — and I sincerely sympathize. Hope the new machine gives you all you need.
    Excellent point about structure (goals) and (output) creativity not necessarily working hand-in-hand in everyone. Though many writers seem to thrive with fairly rigid objectives, I (like you) tend to chafe in that harness and begin to focus more on the charts than on the stories involved.
    You’ll hear more on Hound Day, but my basic approach these days is to try to write either one hour a day or 1k words a day as a minimum. [When I’m sprinting, an hour will usually generate 1k].
    Though some days, my schedule seems not to allow even that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I’m usually motivated by goals, but this year my inspiration has waned. I haven’t written any new words in quite a while, so I’m taking a step back until the holiday preparation is over. I can just imagine how frustrated you must be with your computer woes. Have fun shopping for your new one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

