The Never-ending Christmas To-do List

treeWe have another free week at Four Foxes, One Hound, and I spent a lot of time scratching my head trying to decide what to write about. It was time I really didn’t have, because the countdown to Christmas is looming and like any mom/grandma my level of stress is rising. This is finals week at the university, so I’ll have to give two exams, grade them, and upload the final grades by Thursday at noon. In addition, I have a concert on Monday evening, a scrapbook club party on Tuesday (it’s my turn to bring treats, and I promised to bring a crockpot full of meatballs), a Facebook party on Wednesday and Thursday (I’m the emcee), an out-of-state family member arriving on Friday (I’m the designated taxi driver to and from the airport), and on Saturday there’s a high school reunion breakfast, my daughter’s band performance and one of our family Christmas gatherings in the afternoon. There is much to be done. I decided to put off writing this post while I made my to-do list for the week.

giftsTree: finally up, only partially trimmed (see above). I have the pieces cut out for a tree skirt, but I still need to put it together.

Gifts: all are purchased, and waiting to be wrapped. I did most of my shopping online this year. As soon as I get the table cleared off I need to get the wrapping paper out and put them under the tree.

cardsChristmas cards: I addressed all the envelopes during Thanksgiving week, and then got involved in doing a bunch of other stuff. They’re sitting here on the hearth, still not sent out. I need to make time to finish signing the cards, put them in the envelopes, stamp them, and take them to the post office.

Food: I have a cookie exchange on Tuesday night. It’s the same event for which I’m supplying the meatballs. The dough is made and in the refrigerator. The plan is to bake the cookies today sometime and package them up tomorrow. I need to purchase the stuff for Swedish meatballs today so that my resident cook can make them. Since we won’t see the grandkids until January, the candy for stockings can be purchased later (it’s usually half-price after Christmas!)

stockingsStockings for grandkids: They’re all sewn. I still need to put names on them and fill them with candy. The two great-grandkids are too little for candy, so I’ll have to get some baby treats. This isn’t totally high priority, since they won’t be needed until the family gathering with kids, grandkids, and great-grandkids on January 3. But it’s still something I need to finish.

mantleDecorating: I’ve been working on this little by little. I got the mantle taken care of right after Thanksgiving. The cards we’ve received so far are hung on a ribbon to the left. I need to make more of those bows in case we receive more. I put the Christmas wreath on the door and the garland on the outside of the house. The little flowerpots in the kitchen have pointsettias in them instead of the pink flowers (sorry, I don’t know my plants) that were in them before. I’d say I’m doing pretty well in this department.

pointsettiasWriting/ Promotion: I’m barely keeping my head above water here. I haven’t done ANY new writing since October. Even with my lists, I’m barely getting done what needs to be done for the next day. So far I haven’t forgotten anything, but I feel like I’m juggling a lot and if I blink I’ll drop one of the balls. Yes, I still love Christmas and I still love writing about it, but for some reason I always run into a time crunch at the last second. In a few weeks I’ll have forgotten all my worrying and will be looking forward to next year!

So there’s my list for the week. I’ll need to break this down into daily must-dos. If you don’t see me online this week it’s because I’m working on my list – or maybe eating. I tend to eat when I’m stressed. Good thing I’ll have lots of food…well, after Tuesday I’ll have plenty of cookies and meatballs!

What holiday chores do you still need to finish?

About Patricia Kiyono

During her first career, Patricia Kiyono taught elementary music, computer classes, elementary classrooms, and junior high social studies. She now teaches music education at the university level. She lives in southwest Michigan with her husband, not far from her five children, nine grandchildren (so far), and great-granddaughters. Current interests, aside from writing, include sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, and music. A love of travel and an interest in faraway people inspires her to create stories about different cultures. Check out her sweet historical contemporary romances at her Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Kiyono/e/B0067PSM5C/
This entry was posted in Patricia Kiyono, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Never-ending Christmas To-do List

  1. jeff7salter says:

    wow. just reading of all your activity totally exhausts me. this time of year seems to sap away all my energy anyway, so the pressures of additional deadlines would bench me. you must be a marvel at organization & composure

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      I’m exhausted thinking about it, Jeff. I don’t know about being a marvel, but I’ve been told I hide my stress well. Maybe writing about it will help!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good grief.. and I thought that I was busy! I hope the stress goes down and the enjoyment goes up for you,Patty.

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness you are busy!
    I need to start the baking.Wyatt has his leader day Thursday and wants to take Christmas cookies as the snack for that, Quin has a student council meeting Friday to discuss who will distribute the candy grams at school that day (who can miss what class) and he likes to take in homemade muffins when they have to meet up at 7 in the morning, then Wyatt’s class is having a gingerbread house day next Tuesday and we were asked to bring some supplies for that as well as Wyatt wanting to take in more baked goods and then Quinlan is having a Christmas party in one of his classes next Tuesday as well and his teacher (a dear friend of mine) asked if I could bake up some cookies or doughnuts and send those as well as some juice for the kids (It will also be her birthday so I will make something special for her as well. The kids were thinking homemade peanut butter cups in the shape of gingerbread men).
    I still have so much more to do but it is not near as tight as your schedule! I hope you find a minute to relax.

    Like

Leave a Reply

