Countdown to Christmas

We have a free week and what better topic than Christmas? As my children pointed out there are ONLY ten more days (as of when I am writing this) and there is so much to do. The thing is it does not FEEL like Christmas. It has been warm the past week, not overly warm but it is raining here instead of snowing. The Christmas decorations are everywhere, I live downtown so I get to see all the shops decorated and stop to talk to shop owners. There is a beautiful new strand of garland over a few of the streets here. The only thing missing from all these decorations is the snow that usually covers the ground.

Setting aside the lack of snow I have to say that you can tell Christmas is rapidly approaching. The tree was put together and decorated on my birthday. Then it was undecorated and redone a few days later when I got some new lights to put on the tree. It is in the kids’ toy room. We spend more time in there as a family than anywhere else. The living room tends to only be used if we have guests over. The television is in their toy room, I even find myself in there working on my laptop just so I can hear them laughing and see them playing. Anyway, that seemed like the most logical place to put the tree.

Last Christmas I was given a box filled with new Christmas village pieces. I have never had a village but always loved the ones my mom put up when I was younger. With the purchase of some fake snow my daughter and I spent some time trying to figure out where to put it. All of our shelf space is used, full of books. The only space I had was a half wall in the master suite. My daughter suggested that it go on the floor in the “art gallery” (the hallway where I hang pictures the kids make) because it needed a little Christmas cheer. So that is where it now is along with a countdown that my youngest drew and taped there.

IMG_20151208_115805

Stockings have not been hung as of this post. They’re currently being made. Jesse wanted to make her own stocking this year. My boys are each getting a homemade stocking from my sister. These will be finished up this week. All the pieces are done they just need to be stitched together.

 

Today, as I was picking Wyatt up from school I noticed a sign on the door. They’re having an ugly Christmas sweater party. That is my project this weekend. I refuse to buy a Christmas sweater for him because all the ones in the stores around here are way too big for him. I will be taking his plain black Henley and adorn it with Christmas items. He requested bells be sewn onto it as well as Santa’s head. I’m not sure if that will happen or not. I have finished his beard and added bells to his hat for the play he wrote for next week.

IMG_20151212_143141

Then there is the baking. The youngest has two school events that need cookies. One this week and one next week. My middle child has requested muffins to take to school this week as he has to be at school at seven in the morning. Then he is having a party at school next week as well. On top of all of that baking my daughter volunteered us to make desserts for the family gathering and she wants to bake gifts for her uncles. Which a good deal of the time turns into her making one batch of something then going off to do something else leaving me to finish it all up.

Gifts are wrapped and under the tree. I will be wrapping gifts my sister purchased for everyone though. I love wrapping gifts and she despises it. So I offered to do it for her this year.

I love this time of year! It may be a busy time but it is a happy sort of busy not that I’m-so-busy-all-I-want-to-do-is-curl-up-in-a-ball-and-wish-it-all-away sort of busy. I know many people stress out right about now but I find this all calming and peaceful.

Do you like the busyness that this time of year brings?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Countdown to Christmas

  1. duffybrown says:

    It gets so crazy. Every year I swear I’m going to simplify and then it never happens. A few years we went to Florida and that was great. Just the family and left the crazy behind. Now that is the perfect Christmas. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeff7salter says:

      when I travel, the “craziness” usually comes with me. LOL

      Like

    • I can’t imagine traveling at Christmas. It would be nice to get away from the hustle and bustle to just enjoy. My kids want to spend a Christmas in Ireland. I told them we would when I sell the rights to one of my books for a movie. 😉

      Where did you go in Florida? I heard Disney is great on Christmas Day because you can do the whole park in just a few hours.

      Like

  2. jeff7salter says:

    Angie, sounds like you have a great set-up. It wouldn’t work for me to try to write in the play room with active kids, but if it works for you, that’s terrific.
    I don’t think we’ve ever had a Christmas village scene per se either. My wife’s mom had a lot of those Thos. Kincaid houses and other buildings and I think they’re still over at the cottage that MY mom is now living in. Maybe one day we’ll bring them over here.

    Like

    • Jeff, it doesn’t work all the time. There are days when I write after they go to bed because it is so quiet then.

      If you ever get the village pieces set up at your place take a photo please. I love seeing the older ones, they don’t make them as great as they used to.

      Like

      • jeff7salter says:

        I think I’ve seen some photos of those miniature structures set up as a Christmas village. Denise doesn’t remember any off-hand, but we’ll both look. I think her sister got half of the structures (when the estate was settled) and the other half are still in the cottage somewhere.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I have to admit, I do enjoy the frenzy of Christmas. I actually start planning early, and I get frazzled toward the end, but it’s always worth it. Love your Christmas village – your daughter is a good problem solver!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

